Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Which is Best Way To Connect Router

    My PC is about 15 metres away from where the telephone socket is.
    At present I'm using powerline adaptors (ZYXel) to get online, but performance is dismal so I want to make a direct ethernet connection.
    What I'm unsure about is which is the best option, either leave the router by the telephone socket and run RJ45 cabling to the PC, or run RJ11 telephone cable to the router repositioned by the PC. I suspect the former, but would appreciate any comments on the choice.

    Alex

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    While you can use an ADSL cable extension you may get a loss in performance - the RJ45 Ethernet cable is the better option.

    I do have an ADSL extension cable but have never used it (and can't even remember buying it ) but also have a 10m Flat Cat6 Ethernet cable for the occasional connection to my telly.

    I got the latter (and probably the former) from http://www.cables2u.co.uk/ but there are other cable suppliers.

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    After reading Sudo's post (#2), I have concluded that perhaps things are a bit different in the UK than in the US. Here's what I would recommend for a similar situation in the US:

    I would put the router where the computers are. In your case, it sounds like that means that you should run telephone cable from the phone jack to where the new location of the router will be.

    I had the same situation recently. My router was on one side of the house, behind the TV -- that was the only working DSL jack in the house. However, my computers were on the other side of the house. Not really a problem, because all of the computers connected via wifi with no problem. But I wanted the router to be by the computers, so I ran phone wire from the working DSL jack to where the computers were, and installed a phone jack there. I then plugged in the router, and it worked fine in the new location.

    This move gives me a few benefits:

    * The router is closer to the computers, and so wifi works better.

    * I can now plug the computers in via Ethernet cables -- I prefer to do it that way rather than via wifi.

    * Since the router is no longer behind the TV, I'm sure it works better in wifi mode than it used to.

    * I can now see what is going on with the router -- I can see the lights on the router.

    * It's a lot easier to get to the router, in case I ever have to call tech support.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    It's usually advised not to use a phone extension as they aren't designed to carry a broadband signal and can result in a loss of performance and you can experience a loss in sync speed with added extensions as I have, even when the router was plugged into the master socket.

    This is the advice from TalkTalk - https://help2.talktalk.co.uk/can-i-u...bles-my-router

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Given the cost of a 20m cat5 cable (from the site recommended by Sudo) I'd opt for extending the ethernet, not the phone.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    Interesting. I've always wondered about the DSL signal coming over a two-wire phone line.

    So far, for me the wifi connection seems to be faster and better; and by positioning my router near the computers, I am able to use Ethernet cables to connect the computers to the internet.

    I have a feeling that in my case, the benefit of having the router out in a clear area rather than behind the TV is outweighing any signal loss from having a longer phone wire.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    What have you wondered?

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    I've always wondered how the phone company can transmit a fast internet signal over a simple two-wire phone line!

    Getting back to the topic of the length of the phone line affecting signal loss, that concern has never occurred to me. And that's probably because two-wire phone line has been around for longer than I've been alive; and it's just been a matter of connecting the two lines in parallel, no matter how long the lines, and you've got yourself a phone connection. That works fine for an old-fashioned analog phone; but perhaps not so well for a DSL signal.

    I can see how a much better quality line (Ethernet cable) would have less signal loss than a two-wire old-fashioned phone line.

    Still, in my case I think that moving the router to where the computers are was the thing to do, even though the "worst" quality line was the one which got lengthened. But there's no reason why I couldn't have used CAT 6 Ethernet cable to extend the phone line -- just pick the same two wires on each end of the cable.
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2016-11-01 at 14:20.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 50 Times in 22 Posts
    I'm with Sudo, use RJ45 Ethernet cable where possible, in preference to RJ11 phone wiring.

    One point that I have not seen anyone make is that buying cheap cables is almost certainly false economy.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I have read many articles about cheap vs. expensive cables. When it comes to computer cables of all kinds an expensive cable seldom works better. Don't be sucked in by the marketing lines from most retailers. Just search for "are expensive cables worth it" to read many articles for yourself.
    Joe

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,645
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    I have read many articles about cheap vs. expensive cables. When it comes to computer cables of all kinds an expensive cable seldom works better. Don't be sucked in by the marketing lines from most retailers. Just search for "are expensive cables worth it" to read many articles for yourself.
    Providing they are both using copper wire then you could be paying for the name, but some of the cheaper ones may only be using aluminium which isn't better than copper.

    British Telecom who own the lines from the exchange in the UK had used aluminium but have since, or are in the process of changing all lines to copper.

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    I've always wondered how the phone company can transmit a fast internet signal over a simple two-wire phone line!
    Encoding and pre and post compensation. The same as a USB cable really, only longer and therefore slower.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.992.1

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Thanks for the advice guys. Have now ordered 20m Cat7 cable from Cables 2u.

    Alex

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnFleming View Post
    I'm with Sudo, use RJ45 Ethernet cable where possible, in preference to RJ11 phone wiring.

    One point that I have not seen anyone make is that buying cheap cables is almost certainly false economy.
    I already had a bunch of two-wire phone cable, so I didn't have to buy any cable. In fact, while I was under my house running the wire, I ran a bit short; but fortunately the phone company had left some extra wire under my house, which worked fine for me! At any rate, my connection speed and reliability seem to have improved with the way I have done things, so I'm satisfied with it.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,383
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A1ex View Post
    Thanks for the advice guys. Have now ordered 20m Cat7 cable from Cables 2u.

    Alex
    I did not know there even was a CAT7 cable, you made the right decision using the highest CAT available IMHO, the day might have come when you would have wanted it in the walls why run it twice? I am thinking an Ethernet signal would degrade less than an DSL signal and suffer less from interference but could be wrong there...

    In any case try not to run close AND parallel to power cables for best results.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •