Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I think Win update changed my display

    Several weeks ago I found I was having difficulty reading many screens. The font seemed to have changed. And some special characters seemed wrong (since identified as the back slash - there might be more).
    • I checked my Windows 10 update history. 3 updates on 9/25, one on 10/17, two on 10/27, and one 10/28. So IIRC, 9/25 is about when I noticed the changes.
    • In "display settings" I did not find anything that seemed promising other than "Clear Type" (I went through it but it didn't fix anything - I've gone through that menu in the past)
    • I have 2 displays: 1680x1050 and 1280x1024. Both are the LCD's optimum settings, both are unchanged. My NVideo display card has not changed.


    Any suggestions?

    PS - You guys are outstandingly knowledgeable - OUTSTANDING! Just thought I'd mention that...
    PS2 - I keep having to hit CTRL/+ to read sites. Like this site!

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hobkirk View Post
    I have 2 displays: 1680x1050 and 1280x1024. Both are the LCD's optimum settings, both are unchanged. My NVideo display card has not changed.
    Am I correct that you are using 2 monitors with a single computer? Do both display the same issue? Does the issue go away if both are set to the same resolution such as 1440x900 along with the video adapter at 1440x900? Have you tried upping the percentage increase to 125% or 150%?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    Am I correct that you are using 2 monitors with a single computer? Do both display the same issue? Does the issue go away if both are set to the same resolution such as 1440x900 along with the video adapter at 1440x900? Have you tried upping the percentage increase to 125% or 150%?
    Yes, 2 screens.
    Both have same issue on both
    I've experimented with resolution settings when I setup the system. The "correct" settings (as defined by the monitor MFG and per Win 10 recommendations worked best.
    Yes, I bump resolution often. As referenced in PS #2 above.


    Does this look right?
    I copied the text on the next line from the screenshot below.
    C:\Documents and Settings\User>ipconfig
    screen_display.jpg
    (I assume the text line appears to you with backward slashes, and the screenshot does not - or maybe this is a problem for everybody?)

    ---------------- added after reading respons(es) - maybe I'm not being clear -----
    FIRST: The above text and screenshot is from a forum posting that illustrates the problem.
    SECOND: Notice how UGLY the FONT is! It's hard to read.
    Last edited by hobkirk; 2016-11-03 at 09:08.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hobkirk View Post
    Yes, 2 screens.
    Both have same issue on both
    I've experimented with resolution settings when I setup the system. The "correct" settings (as defined by the monitor MFG and per Win 10 recommendations worked best.
    Yes, I bump resolution often. As referenced in PS #2 above.


    Does this look right?
    I copied the text on the next line from the screenshot below.
    C:\Documents and Settings\User>ipconfig
    screen_display.jpg
    (I assume the text line appears to you with backward slashes, and the screenshot does not - or maybe this is a problem for everybody?)
    No, the image does not look right if using in the USA or other English usage. The symbols are incorrect.

    The forward slash /// is used in URLs/Web site addresses.

    The backslash \\\ is used in file management as in the path or address to a Folder or file such as C:\Windows\System32\msconfig.exe.

    The greater than symbol > is used for redirecting the screen output to another place such as at the C: prompt in a Command Prompt window you can use DIR /O/S/P to scroll through all the files on your HDD a page at a time [to stop it use Ctrl plus C]. If wanting a record use DIR /O/S>dir.txt or use a Folder path to somewhere else.
    Last edited by Berton; 2016-11-03 at 00:05.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Why does the screenshot show C:\Documents and Settings\User if this is Windows 10? Shouldn't that be C:\Users\User?

    The screenshot looks like a command prompt that's showing the Yen () symbol instead of a backslash, in Windows 10 go to Control Panel > Region > Administrative (tab) and check the Language for non-Unicode programs matches the Windows display language on the first tab, i.e. Formats.

    (In Win 7 it's Control Panel > Region and Language.)

    Hope this helps...
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-11-03 at 02:36.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    Why does the screenshot show C:\Documents and Settings\User if this is Windows 10? Shouldn't that be C:\Users\User?

    The screenshot looks like a command prompt that's showing the Yen () symbol instead of a backslash, in Windows 10 go to Control Panel > Region > Administrative (tab) and check the Language for non-Unicode programs matches the Windows display language on the first tab, i.e. Formats.

    (In Win 7 it's Control Panel > Region and Language.)

    Hope this helps...
    I am not using Win 7 - I don't see the options you are citing in Win 10 Control Panel. Under SETTINGS search finds no UNICODE.anything. (I am using Win 10 Home, the Language is English, the Country is United States)

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If you are using the Settings app, click "Time & Language", then at the bottom of the right pane click on "Additional date, time, & regional settings" (should open Control Panel), click on "Region", then click on the "Administrative" tab.
    Joe

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hobkirk
    Under SETTINGS search finds no UNICODE.anything. (I am using Win 10 Home, the Language is English, the Country is United States)
    1. Copy this: control /name Microsoft.RegionalAndLanguageOptions
    2. Right-click on the Start button and select Run.
    3. Paste the text from step 1.
    4. Select the Administrative tab.
    5. Click on the Change system locale... button.

    locale.png
    Click to enlarge

    Hope this helps...

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    If you are using the Settings app, click "Time & Language", then at the bottom of the right pane click on "Additional date, time, & regional settings" (should open Control Panel), click on "Region", then click on the "Administrative" tab.
    Thanks, Joe. I appreciate all help, even when it seems it might not pertain. I don't think the problem is UNICODE, the FONT seems changed, but the backslash specific issue seemed like that might be useful.

    But there is no "Admin" tab under my settings / time & language / region & language
    • The triggered screen heading = control panel \ clock, language, and region
    • Left side choices = CP home, system & security, network & internet, HW & sound, programs, user accts, appearance and ..., clock lang region, ease of access
    • Right side choices = date and time, language, region
    • Language choice shows "English US" (with add, remove, move up/down) plus panel on left with Advanced settings and change date, time, or number formats
    • Advanced offers overwrite language or input method
    • Change format (HOORAY) brings up a REGION screen w/ tabs Format, location, and >>>Admin<<<
    • Admin shows "Language for non-Unicode programs" as English US

  10. It would seem "English US" is what I want.
Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •