Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Windows Backup question

    Running Windows 10 Home AU (1607).

    When performing a Windows back up (using File History) a message stating the following appears:

    You are currently on a network where additional charges may apply when performing a backup.

    I'm backing up to a USB-attached external HDD. So why/how does that use bandwidth on my internet connection? Makes no sense to me. What am I missing?Capture.PNG
    Last edited by unbob; 2016-11-20 at 10:30.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Really? No replies in almost 3 weeks? I'm the only one who's seen this message?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    Running Windows 10 Home AU (1607).

    When performing a Windows back up (using File History) a message stating the following appears:

    You are currently on a network where additional charges may apply when performing a backup.
    That's basically a warning that if you are using an offsite ( dropbox etc. ) service, that you could incur ISP fee's.
    Hope this helps

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    I missed it somehow. Sorry.
    The only other thing that comes to mind is that Windows thinks there is a metered connection over WiFi.
    Click the Start button and select Settings / Network & Internet / Wi-Fi / Advanced options. On the screen that appears, go to the "Metered connection" setting and set the slider from on to off. If you're connected to a network via Ethernet, the "Metered connection" setting won't appear.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calimanco View Post
    The only other thing that comes to mind is that Windows thinks there is a metered connection over WiFi.
    Thanks for the reply!

    Yes, I certainly am using a metered connection over wifi. But the message should only appear if I'm backing up to a non-local device - correct? Otherwise, why display the the message?

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    It appears to be a general warning in case you do use offsite storage, appearing regardless of where the backup is to be saved.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calimanco View Post
    It appears to be a general warning in case you do use offsite storage, appearing regardless of where the backup is to be saved.
    My assumption also. But really dumb software.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •