Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    User Account Control - exemption?

    I have Volume2 installed. Until a few days ago the system would boot up without mentioning it. Now, presumably after an update, when booting up, the User Account Control opens asking if I want Volume 2 to make changes.
    This is very annoying.

    Is there any way to get the account control to ignore it?
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    The reason you get the UAC prompt is because Volume2 wants to make a change that requires more access. You can either turn UAC off - not recommended - or stop / remove the Volume2 update.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I don't understand Paul. The UAC prompt didn't appear before, why should it do so now?

    Your good health, Syncopator
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    723
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
    Its possible that a recent update altered the settings as I noticed a similar problem when swapping a hard drive. Download UAC Tweak and set it to low. Ignore the Vista ref. It works in W10 as well.

    http://www.askvg.com/uac-tweak-a-sma...windows-vista/

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Calimanco For This Useful Post:

    Syncopator (2016-11-04)

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you Calimanco, that's done the trick.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Except that you are no longer prompted to allow user elevation and may therefore miss a virus infection attempt.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #7
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    What, then, can I do so that the application starts without the user account poking its nose in - just as it did before?
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  9. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Find out what the app is trying to update and either prevent the update or schedule it - you can run with higher privileges in Task Scheduler.
    You could also ask on the app support site.

    cheers, Paul

  10. #9
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I have the impression that the problem was caused by a system update, not a newly installed application.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  11. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Has the app website got any info on the issue?
    Have you tried un/re-installing the app?

    cheers, Paul

  12. #11
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I have the impression that the problem was caused by a system update, not a newly installed application.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  13. #12
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,764
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Syncopator View Post
    What, then, can I do so that the application starts without the user account poking its nose in - just as it did before?
    I think you can set it up in Task Scheduler. Open Task Scheduler using "Run as administrator", then click "Create Task..." in the right pane.

    On the General tab name it something like "Volume2SkipUAC" (without the quotes). You want it set to run as <your Administrator accountname> (should be already in the box), click the radio button beside "Run only when user is logged on", put a check by "Run with highest privileges", and make sure it is configured for Windows 10.

    Nothing need be done in the Triggers tab.

    In the Actions tab click "New" at the bottom, and you want to "Start a program". Click "Browse" and navigate to the executable file for Volume2 and select that; the path statement will fill in with your selection. In the box for "Add arguments (optional):" type "$(Arg0)" without the quotes. ---(That's a zero, not a capital o)---

    In the Conditions tab, if there are "Power" options, uncheck anything that might have a check.

    Leave the Settings tab in its default except for the bottom entry. Under "If the task is already running, then the following rule applies:" click the dropdown and select "Do not start a new instance".

    OK your way back out and close Task Scheduler, then reboot.

    Let us know if that does it.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  14. #13
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you bbearren.

    While I'm sure that would work, I'm afraid that other problems have made themselves evident.

    Google has been set as my default browser but now, for some reason, every time I go to use it, it tells me that it isn't the default ....etc. When I click to make it so, UAC kicks in ... etc. Settings for other preferences are, too, being overriden

    I had got rid of Edge, but that's trying to dominate now.

    I can envisage many visits here requesting, and no doubt receiving, help, but it seems to me that a much simpler solution is to perform a completely new installation using the original Windows disc.

    Over the years I've had Windows 95, 98, XP Home and Pro, and Windows 8.1 - before being forced to use this damned thing.

    I have never, in any of the previous versions, had to fight the system so frequently as I have had to do with this one. I never know what it's going to do next. I hope that Microsoft never supplies software to NASA or the avionics or medical industries.

    As soon a I can, if ever (I'm half way to 154 years old), afford it I will buy a Mac and put all this behind me.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  15. #14
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I've now reinstalled the operating system and everything works well.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  16. #15
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Syncopator
    I have never, in any of the previous versions, had to fight the system so frequently as I have had to do with this one. I never know what it's going to do next. I hope that Microsoft never supplies software to NASA or the avionics or medical industries.
    How about the U.S. Department of Defense? Windows 10 Reports for Duty

    "Quick, quick... incoming! Fire a missile!"

    "Sorry, Sir. Our Windows 10 systems have decided to update and reboot themselves. We should be back online and in control again in about 15 minutes... if all goes well."
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-11-06 at 14:12.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •