3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Since patch KB3200970, CCLeaner deletes all System Restores

My Win10 computer auto-installed KB3200970 yesterday. I rebooted a couple of times and went on with life. Today, I decided to back up my PC, and I use CCleaner (v.5.22.5724) first to remove old System Restore points and clean up. I had 6 System Restores, so I selected the oldest two (and kept the newest 4) and clicked “delete”. CClean removed ALL of my system restores, INCLUDING the one greyed out to keep it from being deleted. All were suddenly gone.

I went to the Start button to type “System Restore” to check to see what Win10 said, but that search didn’t work. A subsequent reboot (my 3rd or 4th since the patch install) brought that function back, but the Restores are gone.

I’ve been using this version of CCleaner for several months, so I know it works. Still, what happened to all of my restores? Since the only change I've made is the patch, I suspect that.

(I placed this question under "Windows 10" because I believe the cause lies here and not with CCleaner.)

Anyone else seen this?

Thanks
    I had the same problem. What happened to your restore points is that the update has apparently turned off System Restore. Go to System Restore and turn it back on.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    My system restore is on and has been, as far as I know. Still, the points appeared in CCLeaner and then all disappeared when I deleted two.....

Thanks
    It could have been a timing thing, my experience suggests that when W10 installs an upgrade/update that would mean old SR points would break the new build, SR is turned off for a relatively short time after the upgrade/update. Sometime after the necessary reboot, presumably after any other needed background housekeeping is completed, SR is then silently reinstated.

Thanks
    CCleaner (v.5.22.5724)
    Just an observation but v.5.23.5808 CCleaner has been out for awhile now.