Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Browser dpi problem

    Chromium/Blink-based Opera allows adjustment of text size via an add-on string to the start up file target, e.g., --alt-high-dpi-setting=96. That adjustment works fine when starting from the file or desktop icon, but has never taken from the taskbar icon, neither in Win 10 or earlier with Win 8/8.1. Is that the doing of Windows or Opera? My hunch is Windows, but don't know. Thanks,

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I'll try again, by restarting and narrowing the question:

    Presumably the fix for the taskbar icon is adding the dpi change to its entry in the registry, specifically to Opera's launcher.exe file. Since there are a number of Opera launcher.exe listings, does anyone know what part of the registry the program is launched from, i.e., what part I'd need to modify with the dpi add on? Thanks,
    Last edited by highstream; 2016-11-17 at 16:38.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    729
    Thanks
    199
    Thanked 89 Times in 76 Posts
    I recommend you post this in the Third-Party-Browsers forum. The browser gurus may not read this forum.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1703; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 1TB HD

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Yes, now that I've narrowed the question: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...65#post1072865 Thanks,

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,035
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,142 Times in 1,000 Posts
    Is that available as a setting at opera:config or opera:flags?
    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    JoeP, This thread was moved over to http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...65#post1072865.
    Last edited by highstream; 2016-11-18 at 10:14.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •