New Lounger
    Thanks

Software to OCR insurance cards

I am trying to find software that will OCR the text from an insurance card. I have a PenPower Pro scanner, but the business card scanning software included does a horrible job on insurance cards (I'm a medical professional). I used to use the OCR included in Office 2007, but it no longer functions properly in W10. I've tried a couple of free options, with inadequate results, but I'm unwilling to spend hundreds on a program that may or may not do the job.

This is pretty simple stuff- I just want an image of the card, and the ability to select and paste the ID numbers into my main program (to eliminate transcription errors). Suggestions would be much appreciated.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you tried the native scanning in Windows 10?

You could also try Office Lens. Works on a PC or a smartphone. Look in the Store.
    Joe

Thanks
    Plastic cards? Maybe setting to greyscale and adjusting settings might suffice.
    David

Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I'd be real interested in finding the native OCR in Windows 10! I have used the Scan app, which gives me the picture but no OCR. I have tried Office Lens, and can't figure how to get it to OCR- in addition, it seems to work only with the camera, not a scanner. Similarly I had been told that One Note does OCR, and it works fine with previously acquired PDFs, but has no way to scan into the app (that I can find).

Seems this should be way simpler than it turns out to be.

Administrator
    Thanks
    With Office Lens you can take a picture and have it turned into a Word document. You can also import previously taken pictures.
    Joe

New Lounger
    Thanks