Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Can't remove/delete a "drive within a drive".

    When I read, in Susan Bradley's Patch Watch of 22nd November, "... backup applications; many such as Veeam are offered free", I downloaded it.

    It was downloaded to my external hard drive (F). However, it created VEEAMRE (E) on the F drive, and installed itself in there.

    This PC (it's Windows 10) now shows four drives: Local Disk (C), DVD RW Drive (D), VEEAMRE (E), and Local Disk (F).

    I then discovered that Veeam's User Guide had 176 pages. No thank you, I'm not going to struggle my way through that.

    I tried to uninstall everything in E, but something, I don't know what, was left over. It has 531 MB free of 547 MB, and shows this as a short blue section in the box alongside its icon. I have formatted it but it still hangs on to ... whatever it is.
    I formatted F too, but E remains on it.

    F has 465 GB free of 465GB.

    How can I completely get rid of E?


    With reference to Veeam's user guide's size, I looked at others for comparison. EasUS Todo Backup's has 76 pages, Macrium Reflect's has an astonishing 353. I couldn't find one for Acronis.
    Last edited by Syncopator; 2016-11-28 at 18:49.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You might want to try deleting the drive from a bootable disk, like from a partitioning application.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you CLiNT.

    I don't understand how to do that.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Syncopator,

    You might check to see if it is a virtual drive via the DOS Subst command.

    Open a command prompt and just enter: Subst [Enter]

    If you have any virtual drives they will be displayed. You can then use Subst to delete the virtual drive.

    Here's some documentation on Subst.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    RetiredGeek.

    I did some Googling to find out a little about partitioning. I don't quite know how I got there, but I succeeded in removing the E drive ... but unfortunately the F drive went with it. It no longer appears in This PC.

    Tried the Subst command out of curiosity. Nothing happened.

    Edit: I looked in Device Manager and found that what was the F drive appears, under Universal Serial Bus controllers, as USB Mass Storage Device.
    Its properties tells me that "This device is working properly".
    Last edited by Syncopator; 2016-12-01 at 07:50.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Fire up Disk Manager and see if the drive is recognised. If so you will be able to make it visible to Windows, but probably not without data loss.
    Post a screenshot of the Disk Manager view and we will advise.

    cheers, Paul

    p.s. I like your reason for not using a program - manual too big.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you Paul T,

    I had set the "inform me of replies" facility, but it failed to work for your post. Sorry for the delay.

    DiskMgmt.jpg
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    You have an apparently un-formatted drive. You have two options.
    1. Reformat and start again.
    2. Run a recover utility to attempt to resurect the drive and data. This may or may not work, but if you want to try to get your data back...

    cheers, Paul

    p.s. Why don't you change the CD drive letter to E or F and then you can have the second hard drive as D.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Why don't you change the CD drive letter to E or F and then you can have the second hard drive as D.
    I always assign V: to my DVD drive, to keep it well out of the way!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    My first thought was to reformat it, but that option is not available.

    Right clicking on the left, where it says Disk 1, offers me Convert to Dynamic Disk, Convert to GPT Disk, Properties, and Help.

    Right clicking on the main window to the right offers me New Simple Volume, Properties, and Help.

    I had a look for recovery software on the net and opted to try Piriform's Recuva.

    It asks for the File location. Of the options presented, "In a specific location" seems to be the obvious one, but it's not shown when I browse for it.

    I can't think what to do next.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    You need to perform a disk recovery in Recuva.

    To format it you need to first create a new simple volume.

    cheers, Paul

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,383
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    how did you uninstall veeam?
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I think I used IObit's Uninstaller.

    Edit ... a bit later.

    The drive has now been formatted and appears to be fine.

    Thank you to all who have helped.
    Last edited by Syncopator; 2016-12-06 at 18:02.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •