Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Problems after Factory Restore

    Got a friend who wants to give her old HP laptop to her granddaughter. She asked me to get rid of her personal files, so I decided to see if Factory Restore would work. Using HP Recovery Manager, I ran some hardware checks, backed up her data to an external HDD, then ran the Factory Restore. Went very well, and Windows Update started showing me things to install. Ran WU several times, then came to a point where it said Service Pack 1 should be installed (this is a 32-bit Vista Home Premium machine, BTW). I tell it go ahead, and the install appears to be starting, then after just a couple seconds WU says the SP1 install was successful. BUT SP1 is still showing as an available update (and I know a "real" install takes some time).

    The laptop came from the factory with a 60-day version of Norton Internet Security. Norton said I should run Live Update, but when I did virus definitions and one other update would not install. According to Norton, this is because the laptop needs a version of Internet Explorer higher than 7. Windows Update is not offering any updates to IE, so I attempted to use the MS download site for this. Whether I try to run the update directly or from a saved download, it doesn't work, either.

    Any suggestions about fixing these two problems greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,572
    Thanks
    471
    Thanked 417 Times in 389 Posts
    You can install IE 9 for Vista 32-bit. In order to install IE9, you'll need to first install Vista service pack 2.
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2016-12-13 at 08:37.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    You can install IE 9 for Vista 32-bit. In order to install IE9, you'll need to first install Vista service pack 2.
    Can I install Service Pack 2, even though SP1 isn't installed?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,128
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 938 Times in 896 Posts
    No - SP1 needs to be installed first.

    Try the standalone package, but I'd disable Norton first.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down...ils.aspx?id=30

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    No - SP1 needs to be installed first.

    Try the standalone package, but I'd disable Norton first.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down...ils.aspx?id=30
    Thanks, the SP1 standalone install worked and now the laptop is completely up to date!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,128
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 938 Times in 896 Posts
    That's great news

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,572
    Thanks
    471
    Thanked 417 Times in 389 Posts
    Although you don't have to install SP2, installing SP2 will allow you to install Internet Explorer ver. 9. (With SP1, the newest version of IE you can install is IE 8.) I recommend that you use the newer version of the browser, because it will be more secure than an older version.

    Also, SP2 brings you more up to date on Vista security patches than SP1.

    You could browse with Firefox (32-bit) rather than with IE. In this way, you would have a completely up to date browser. (IE 9 is old.)
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2016-12-14 at 11:04.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •