Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Synchronizing (Access 2000)

    Hi,
    Not sure if you can help me on this one because there may be a network issue involved, but here goes. I have a client that I can connect to their network through dial up networking from my home. I do some data entry for them into Access and then connect to their network and synchronize the database. This has gone very well up until the time I got a new computer. I can connect to their network with no problem but when I go into Access and synchronize I get the message "Microsoft Access can't open the database "clients name and path. " "The Microsoft Jet database engine cannot open the file "Path of database" It is already opened exclusively by another user, or you need permission to view its data." NOW, the only reason I believe it may be a setting on my end in Access is because if I transfer the database to my old computer (which I had no problems synchronizing from) the synchronization works. I have checked the options in Access and cannot find anything that may help. I have gone to Tools - Advanced and under "Default Open Mode" made sure the Shared option was check. Does anyone have any ideas. Thank you. Dorothy

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Synchronizing (Access 2000)

    You haven't given us enough information. What operating system are you running on the new machine and on the old one? Are you running the same versions of Office on both, including the same service releases?
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Synchronizing (Access 2000)

    Two questions
    - what command are you using to synchronize the databases? (In other words, is replication being used?)
    - is Access security active - are you getting a password prompt when you start the database?
    Wendell

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Synchronizing (Access 2000)

    I am using Windows 98 on both machines and Office 2000 same software on both from same disk.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Synchronizing (Access 2000)

    The database I have on my computer is a replica created by my client. I use the command Tools - Replication - Synchronize now. On my old computer the synchronization begins but not on the new. This is the point where I get the message that is in my original post. Thanks

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Synchronizing (Access 2000)

    I suspect this has to do with the fact that your new computer probably has a different network name from what your old one did. I think that you will probably need to have your client create a new replica for your new machine. This is one aspect of replication that seems more than a little flakey. Just moving a replica to a new folder on your hard drive can have the same effect. In fact that could also be a problem here. Is your path to the replica on your new machine the same as it was to the old? If not, try creating the exact same path. Hope this helps solve your problem.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: Synchronizing (Access 2000)

    Hi Dorothy,
    Have you checked all the dial-up networking settings on the new computer? Can you, for instance, directly open the database on the client's network via your dial-up connection? (or another smaller file in the same location if the database is very large)
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •