Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System hangs during dial-in connection

    I have a laptop that is normally connected to the Internet through an Ethernet connection to broadband while at home. While on a trip, I dialed to my ISP for the first time. After connecting to the ISP but my system freezes. The mouse won't move, and Ctrl-Alt-Del won't even bring up the task manager. Sometimes, after several minutes the dialer will time out and the system unfreezes. At other times, the system remains frozen.

    I thought their might be a problem with the built-in Lucent Winmodem (I hate Winmodems) so I bought a PCMCIA Zoom modem that's a true hardware modem. The same thing happens.

    One thing I tried was to use Hyperterminal to make a modem connection to see if it had the same problem. It didn't. The connection made and the system didn't freeze.

    I've searched these boards and the Microsoft site but can't find anything. Any tips?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System hangs during dial-in connection

    Only thing I could find was this:

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q306580>System May Become Unresponsive When Using a Modem (Q306580)</A>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System hangs during dial-in connection

    Thanks Leif. I had seen that article but it didn't seem to cover my situation.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System hangs during dial-in connection

    When you open Connections from Internet Options (from Control Panel or from IE Tools | Internet Options menu) do you see both - LAN and Dial-Up - connections in the box?
    Does your ISP provide its own network dialer?
    Did you try to delete dial-up connection from Start | Connect to | Show all connections... and create a new connection?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System hangs during dial-in connection

    I have exactly the same problem with XP (Sony VAIO PCG-XG28 notebook, Connexant HCF softmodem). Same PC worked fine in Windows ME. Supposedly one of my coworkers with a Dell laptop has same problem. I discovered that a slow modem connection (24 kbps) actually allows my system to limp along with short bursts of responsiveness between freezes. I also tried buying a PC modem card but got no improvement. Ethernet (including wireless) works fine. No response yet from Sony tech support.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System hangs during dial-in connection

    Microsoft tech support says Conexant HCF driver is not compatible with Windows XP (even though it ships in Windows XP). I'm supposed to get updated driver from computer maker (Sony) or modem maker (Conexant). I'll just pick up the Holy Grail while I'm at it.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System hangs during dial-in connection

    <hr>just pick up the Holy Grail while I'm at it<hr>
    <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> Jim, I think we've all been there....and they told me the Grail was out of stock last time I went looking.
    -Mark

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System hangs during dial-in connection

    Ahh, that's my problem... I should have realized that Grails and driver updates are always backordered.
    <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •