Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
  1. #16
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,450
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 983 Times in 935 Posts
    Did you manage to change the DNS servers in the computer ?

    I don't have any experience of XP but this tutorial looks okay and use Google's DNS servers so yours will look like mine.

    Check the box for Validate settings upon exit - OK - Close and that will run the troubleshooter which should report it can't find any problem and then try the speed test again.

    https://www.speedguide.net/faq/how-d...puter-uses-205

    TmsDNS.PNG

  2. #17
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo View Post
    Did you manage to change the DNS servers in the computer ?

    I don't have any experience of XP but this tutorial looks okay and use Google's DNS servers so yours will look like mine.

    Check the box for Validate settings upon exit - OK - Close and that will run the troubleshooter which should report it can't find any problem and then try the speed test again.

    https://www.speedguide.net/faq/how-d...puter-uses-205

    TmsDNS.PNG
    I'll try that as well Sudo. Thanks again!

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Sudo. Tried changing the DNS but no web connection afterwards!! Changed the setting on the BT dashboard but still no joy.

  4. #19
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Changed the DNS but couldn't get a web connection! Tried to do a speed test again but it times out. Any ideas?

  5. #20
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,450
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 983 Times in 935 Posts
    Can you click on the button for Obtain DNS server address automatically.

    This will default your DNS servers back to default.

    Open a Command Prompt and enter -

    ipconfig /flushdns

    ipconfig /registerdns

    exit

    Boot into Safe Mode with Networking and then see if the speed test will complete.
    Last edited by Sudo; 2017-05-25 at 14:44.

  6. #21
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Before you spend too much time troubleshooting, I would check to see if the issue was only with your PC. Try plugging a different PC into your internet and see if it is also slow. If you are using a laptop, then try testing it somewhere else with known working internet. The most likely explanation is that your internet connection is having issues and you will have to call your ISP about that one.

  7. #22
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rickcosby View Post
    Before you spend too much time troubleshooting, I would check to see if the issue was only with your PC. Try plugging a different PC into your internet and see if it is also slow. If you are using a laptop, then try testing it somewhere else with known working internet. The most likely explanation is that your internet connection is having issues and you will have to call your ISP about that one.
    The internet connection is okay with my laptop and smartphone.
    I have updated Adobe Flash which seems to have made an improvement, not completed cured the issue but I now have "System 32" window opening when I turn the PC on!!

  8. #23
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,450
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 983 Times in 935 Posts
    Try running a scan with AdwCleaner should you have picked something up.

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/deta...aner.html.html

  9. #24
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Do you mean an Adware cleaner or AVG?

  10. #25
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,450
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 983 Times in 935 Posts
    AdwCleaner - just click on the link in my last post which is an adware and PuP cleaner.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •