Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Run Time Error (ID 5.50.4807; ME)

    When visiting a particular forum website I use frequently, every click response to posts there results in a Run Time Error, Line 1, Invallid Character. Responding Yes to the debug option has no effect except that the error pop up disappears and I go to the link I chose. This is maddening and I have no idea what caused it or what to do about it. The forum admin suggested that I disable javascript. Should I do this? Why/why not? If I should, how do I do it and can I reverse the choice if I want to? Is there any other way to fix this problem?

    Any and all assistance greatly appreciated and gratefully accepted.

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (ID 5.50.4807; ME)

    That's IE 5.50.4807.2300IC, not ID etc I fat fingered the version information. Sorry

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    382
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (ID 5.50.4807; ME)

    Hi Bob:

    I might have suggested turning off debugging, but I don't remember suggesting turning off javascript.

    These type of problems are usually errors at the web site.

    Can you post a URL so that the problem can be checked elsewhere?
    <big><big><font color=blue>Ian</font color=blue></big></big>
    Admin

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (ID 5.50.4807; ME)

    HI Ian,

    Thanks for the response. It wasn't you who suggested disabling javascript but the forum admin on the site in question. The URL's are <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wwforum.com/cgi-bin/forum_main/handtool.cgi>http://www.wwforum.com/cgi-bin/forum_main/handtool.cgi</A> and <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wwforum.com/cgi-bin/forum_main/ptools2.cgi>http://www.wwforum.com/cgi-bin/forum_main/ptools2.cgi</A>.

    (Edited by Leif to make link live - see the <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=lounge&Number=98472&page=0& view=collapsed&sb=5&o=0&vc=1>quick guide</A>)

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (ID 5.50.4807; ME)

    Hi
    You could try temporarily dropping your problem site into Restricted Zone. This effectively aborts all active content on web pages (if you've customized it that way). On re-access, whether the error re-occurs or not will take you some way towards deciding if the error is server side. If so, there's not much you can do except inform the webmaster or board admin; if not you would take steps to update your browser, and so on.

    Rgds

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (ID 5.50.4807; ME)

    Thanks for the help.

    I disabled the debug feature and don't get the run time errors anymore.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •