Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Set Options at Application Start? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    Set Options at Application Start?

    A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1

    Using code how do I set the following two options off when user starts the application?

    What is the proper syntax?

    Tools, Options, General, Track name AutoCorrect info
    AutoCorrect - Replace text as you type

    Are there any other options I may want to control at application startup?

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks, John Graves

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Fredensborg, Denmark
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Set Options at Application Start? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    I can't imagine why you would change autocorrect options in VBA at startup.

    Anyhow, you can use the SetOption method of the Application object to set options.
    Application.SetOption optionname, setting

    Look for help on Application obejct and SetOption.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Set Options at Application Start? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    Clause, I believe he's talking about Name AutoCorrect, which has been implicated in all sorts of strange behavior in Access 2000 and really should be turned off. However, it usually only needs to be turned off once in a database, because the setting is specific to each database.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Fredensborg, Denmark
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Set Options at Application Start? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    Exactly my point.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Set Options at Application Start? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    Hi All

    Charlotte is right.

    New to Access I have been delivering apps with standard menus. No restrictions.

    Also each user has full Access and front end installed on client machine and backend on server.

    I know I had autocorrect turned off at one time on all computers.

    Client's SA ran Detect and Repair on several computers, don't know for sure, but thinking this might reset some default options.

    Can anyone else expand on this?

    John

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Set Options at Application Start? (A2k (9.0.4402) SR-1)

    That should have anything to do with it. Name Autocorrect has to be turned off in each new database and any existing database only once for each, unless someone turns it back on either from code or from the Tools-->Options menu. If you create a new database and import all the objects from an old one, you have to turn off Name Autocorrect on the new one.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •