Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New computer - install question (2000 SP1a)

    I'm going to have to install Office 2000 on my new computer in a couple of days and wondered if there is an easier way to do it.... let me explain, hehe

    I bought the Office 2000 Pro <font color=red>upgrade</font color=red> set. So there needs to be something already installed that is recognized before it can be installed. In the past, I have installed my old Win95 edition of MS Works.. !! So, what I would like to know is there some easier way to be able to do the install of the Office 2000 Pro without having to also install an old edition of Works to do so? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Thanks,

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New computer - install question (2000 SP1a)

    I think you'll find setup will just ask for evidence and demand you to insert a valid (qualifying) CD early on in the proceedings.

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New computer - install question (2000 SP1a)

    Thanks Leif,

    Ya know... the last couple of times I've had to do this, I simply can't recall ever being prompted for a "qualifying CD". The install always ran through my HD looking for one of the required applications and if it wasn't found, it simply said Office couldn't be installed. Now, I readily admit that it might have asked for a CD, and I simply can't remember (senior moment)... !!

    Well, time will tell! <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/wink.gif>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: New computer - install question (2000 SP1a)

    It most likely will not ask for a CD, but will ask Where it (the installer) is to look. So if you put in the CD and then tell it ( the installer) which drive to look at <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New computer - install question (2000 SP1a)

    That might not work, since Office 2000 doesn't know about certain version of Works.

    If you call MSFT, they'll tell you how to get around this.
    I do not believe there is a KB article, I believe you do have to call MSFT.

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New computer - install question (2000 SP1a)

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q210437>Here's</A> your answer. It can be done, if you qualify.

    I don't know the numbering method used by Microsoft (but who does anyways)... but this article makes reference of possible problems with Works 6.0 and/or Works Suite 2001. They say if you do have a problem, contact Microsoft and quote this article number Q210437.

    Hope this helps!
    Christopher Baldrey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •