Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    A Most Bizarre Situation (Word 97SR2)

    I created a nice commandbar set with a number of Popup Control buttons. And after doing so, I noticed that the autotext list (since when do commandbars have anything whatsoever to do with autotext lists??) -- I noticed the names of my autotext entries in the autotext list (Insert>Autotext) are now control button popups to my new commandbar control buttons. What is going on?

    See the screen shot below to see the command bar popup controls. Now see my next post for a look at the autotext list.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    A Most Bizarre...Cont'

    Here is a shot of the Autotext list. Do you have any idea what is going on here?

    Clicking on one of the Autotext entries (xassn, etc.) should drop the corresponding text into the doc. Now autotext entries are commandbar popup controls. Now that's bizarre!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A Most Bizarre...Cont'

    I had a similar problem in Word 2000 after I had edited a lot of command bars and shortcut menus. I never figured out what exactly caused the problem (and I'm not sure if this is particularly helpful), but after I started using code exclusively to change my command bars (so that I could always start from a blank, unaltered template) , the confused autotext-command bar issue went away.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: A Most Bizarre...Cont'

    I, too, have no answer, but I can report that a program called, I believe, WordSmith, which allows the editing of Word-compatible documents on the Palm OS, has a global template that hijacks two submenu items on one of my global templates, also in Word 2000. Methinks the magic randomizer that should prevent duplication of commandbar IDs doesn't work perfectly, and that is the underlying problem, but I haven't actually tested that theory and I certainly have no solution yet.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A Most Bizarre...Cont'

    Hu,

    All the command bars you see in the screen shots were created via code -- that's right even the Word Standard and Formatting bars. I kill all the controls and rebuild them from scratch. So, I don't know about your hunch... Thanks for posting, though. Every little bit of help on this one is greatly appreciated.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •