Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Switch for Keyboard Mous and Monitor

    One of my customers want, to save place, a switch to connect 2 PC to 1 monitor, 1 mouse and 1 keyboard and switch from one to the other PC with a key combination.
    Have somebody experience with such a device ?
    Thanks for your time.
    Francois

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Switch for Keyboard Mous and Monitor

    There are many of such devices avaliable on the market - you must hunt for cheaper one. Use your favorite search engine and look for KVM Switch.

    It is easy to use, no difficulties to install.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switch for Keyboard Mous and Monitor

    I have a Linksys 4-port that does this (there's also a button on the case). The one I have works well, but it's designed to be placed out of sight as the jacks are on three sides.

    You may wish for a model that has the jacks on the back.

    Most KVM switches do not come with cables; some do. When checking prices factor in how much it will cost for the cable sets in addition to the cost of the KVM switch compared to one that inclused cables.

    KVM switches are often rated by the maximum resolution they will support. This is generally a function of the quality of the conntions and internal switch circuit.

    One more is to determine what connectors the keyboard and mouse use. If you only need PS/2 connections you can save a few by getting one that only supports PS/2 ports.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Louisville, Ky.
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switch for Keyboard Mous and Monitor

    Hey Friends, I just set-up a KVM, Win 98 and Win XP, and the Win XP won't accept my cordless wheelmouse because it uses a serial port. Does this mean I have to use a PS/2 mouse? What can I do so I don't have to buy a new mouse? Although It does work but without all of its functions, its seems to be affecting my Win 98 in some strange monitor quarks, or would maybe that be caused by some electrical mojo between these two units? I know the Win 98 pretty well and it doesn't usually act that way without some kind of influence. <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switch for Keyboard Mous and Monitor

    I'm using a Linksys 2-port switch for doing exactly what you've described. It works great, I just hit the CTRL key twice and it switches computers. I believe these are fairly inexpensive, and they make cabling kits for them too so you don't have to try to figure out what you need.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Switch for Keyboard Mous and Monitor

    I've used two different KVMs, one unfortunately with unsatisfactory results pertaining to the mouse.

    {I use a Logitech Trackman Marble +, which has a track ball, two buttons and a wheel for the middle button. The wheel performs both the scrolling and double-click functions.}

    The Linksys model kvm100sk, which is a two-port model worked perfectly.

    The Belkin Omniview four-port model f1db104p worked fine when I only had one computer running. However, after switching computers, I lost the scrolling functionality of the wheel until the computer was re-booted. The response of Belkin's tech support was to stop using the Logitech mouse driver, thereby giving up the wheel functions.

    Since I've also been in the market for a new KVM, I've been checking the online manuals for the different units, and they all have troubleshooting segments dealing with non-responsive mice. The universal answer is to use a plain two-button mouse with the standard Windows mouse driver.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •