Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Copy to multi disks

    In Windows Explorer I was able to drag & drop (copy NOT move) My Documents to my Jaz drive. This was very easy and when the first disk was full I was prompted to put in another disk and another... for a total of 4.

    I did this because I needed to reformat my hard drive.

    Now I want to copy from my Jaz drive back to my c: drive. When I drag and drop from Jaz to c: I'm not prompted to insert the next disk. What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Copy to multi disks

    Your hard drive is NOT full, there for it (Windows) does NOT know that you are going to use another floppy. The reverse worked, because Windows new you had more files to copy but there was not enough room of the zip floppy so it asked for another.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to multi disks

    Of course! That makes sense. Now I'm wondering about file structure. When Windows was copying to the Jaz disks is it smart enough to copy only complete files? How do I retain my directory file structure? There are now some "duplicate" folders on separate Jaz disks.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Copy to multi disks

    The duplicate folders on seperate disks is normal. The file has been divided, but is still intact. To be certain that you have no problems when copying the data back to your hard disk, copy from the disks in the same order you copied to them. It should be fine either way, but it's best to be safe. One other thing, "Copy" the data back don't "Move" it. That way, if there's a problem during the data transfer you won't lose anything to cyberspace.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to multi disks

    Thanks Doc, thanks Dave, everything's Hunky Dory now!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Copy to multi disks

    Another trick to do this, is to use Winzip, and zip these files accross the different floppies, then when you "Restore them" the file and folder structure would be the same. And the unzipping program would ask for the next floppy.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy to multi disks

    That's a great idea! I'll try it next time and try to get back at ya!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •