Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't add a printer

    I'm getting the following error when I try and add a printer in XP Pro:
    You do not have sufficient access to your computer to connect to the selected printer.
    The XP machine is connected to a domain. The printers are all controlled via a Novell network. My user id in both Novell and on the NT machine is Hamilton1. I've assigned that user id Administrator rights in XP Pro and on my NT Server that controls my domain.

    I was able to add printers on my first installation of XP Pro on this machine. At that time, I did not identify the XP machine as part of a domain, only as part of a workgroup. The machine became unstable, so I reformatted and did a reinstall of XP last night. This morning I identified the machine as part of a domain. No problems up to this point. I can see the NT server and it's shared drives. I can see the Novell print queues. I'm using the current Novell Client software for XP.

    Help!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Can't add a printer

    You may have local Admin rights but do you have Network Admin rights?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't add a printer

    What's the difference? Are network admin rights assigned under NT, XP or Novell? I have access to the NT Server (I'm the administrator), I have access to the XP Pro machine (my own), but I don't have access to Novell naming or rights.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Can't add a printer

    Each local machine can have a local admin group and ALL networks have there own Admin groups. I have NOT played with domain types since I retired, but, with NT 4.0 we had about 20 levels of permissions. This was on a network with about 30,000 machines. I was NOT in the IT department, just a local group support with more rights than the users. The users could NOT attach a printer but I could. At that time we had some new Color printers and they were NOT being used in a proper manner. So people were making them their default printer and at that time the they were NOT cheap to use, even for just black on white.

    Have you turned off the MS Firewall, that is on by default?

    Did you have printer access before the rebuild?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't add a printer

    I only understood some of the first part. I still don't really understand what a domain is. If I've assigned the user ID administrator rights on both the NT server and the XP machine, how can there be an issue of access privileges?

    I did have printer access before the rebuild.

    How do I turn off the firewall?

    Do you know how to remove the computer from the domain and merely assign it to a workgroup?

    Thanks very much for your time and assistance on an apparently difficult problem.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't add a printer

    Eureka! I removed the computer from the domain and assigned it to the workgroup, now I can add printers. No idea why this matters, but at least I have a solution. Thanks again for your help.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Can't add a printer

    I think if you run the network wizard again and use the Peer2Peer (work group) selection you will over ride the domain set up.

    The domain networks are on servers and the use of the network is controled from them. The workgroup type the control is on each computer to allow or NOT allow another computer to access it. Any computer can be set up as a "server" for file storage on a workgroup without any extra software. But in a domain network these servers require special software and/or hardware.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't add a printer

    probably group policy restrictions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •