Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Window sizing again

    In an earlier post I asked for suggestions on how to keep an Internet short cut window set to the size I wanted. I have tried everything recommended in that previous thread which I have listed below. Still my windows revert to a small size which I don
    H Lewton

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Window sizing again

    My suggestion isn't too different from everything else you've tried, but I'll offer it anyway. Open an Internet shortcut to open your too small window. Resize it using the method described in the last suggestion. Close the first window...the one that you got your shortcut from, then close the window you just resized. Make sure all other Internet windows are closed before you close that last window.

    I hope this helps!
    Becky

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Window sizing again

    Becky,

    I
    H Lewton

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Window sizing again

    I'm sorry, I saw your original post after I sent you my previous answer. I thought that you were trying to do something else. The advise that Dave gave you should work. The only thing that would make it not work would be any additional Internet Explorer windows you may have open. Make sure you close everything Internet Explorer related (except, of course, your connection to your ISP), then open your link from the desktop. If any additional windows open, close them (none should come up, but you never know). Resize your window to the correct size (don't use the maximize button), then select File-Close. When you open the link again, it should be fine.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Window sizing again

    I wish I could say it was working but I can't. I stepped through every suggestion, rebooting between each and the window still reverts to the small size. Naturally I can't find anything in Microsoft's support database.
    H Lewton

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Window sizing again

    Hi
    Sorry about that earlier missing post. When I read the thread I saw I'd advised you in just the same way as previous posters. They had precedence, so I snuffed mine.
    Pop over to my site and download #79. This is supposed to make all IE windows open maximized. You should also try TweakUI and check 'Save Explorer Window Settings'.

    Click My Sig #79

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Window sizing again

    Thanks I'll give it a try.
    H Lewton

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Window sizing again

    ...keyriced, that's light speed!

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Window sizing again

    I know. I just happened to be here when you posted.
    H Lewton

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Window sizing again

    MerCurmudgeon,

    I am leery of TweakUi but I did download and install IE Maximizer. At the risk of sounding stupid, I found no readme file so I assume the setup was to take care of any settings that this program requires to make it function. If that is the case, it does not open any of the Internet shortcuts or IE itself in the maximized state for me. Are you familiar with this program and do you know if I missed any setting I was supposed to perform?

    Thanks.
    H Lewton

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Window sizing again

    Hi Harold
    RClick on the IE Maximizer icon in the Systray. LClick Restore and a config screen will pop up. You need to enter the last few digits of your IE window title. When finished, use the - button, not Exit or the x
    There's no need to avoid TweakUI. It is written specifically for Windows and always behaves itself. Just get the version that's meant for your OS, though in XP I have its own and a 'classical' version installed. Both work fine.

    Rgds

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Window sizing again

    Hi MerCurmudgeon,

    I'm glad I said at the risk of appearing stupid because shortly after my post I found the readme file for this program.

    Thanks for all your help.

    Harold
    H Lewton

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Window sizing again

    Hey, man. NP

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Window sizing again

    Ddram,

    Thanks for your suggestions. Sorry I didn
    H Lewton

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Window sizing again

    I have been running Windows XP Pro since beta 1, and the resizing and remembering has works on ALL builds including the current production release. I have Windows XP Pro on three machines and the Home Edition on one.
    Either you are NOT following the instructions given or you have third party software that is NOT allowing the setting to take affect. What other software and utilitiles are you running? This includes any ISP software like AOL, driver update maintance and screen savers.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •