Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Ad-Aware 4.5

  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    Hi Dave
    The homesite may call it 4.51, but the program identifies itself as 4.501.

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Ad-Aware 5.0

    They're only new in the sense that with each new build there are more ads recognised and cleansed from your system. Thus you need the latest version if you are going to be as safe as possible.
    Latest seems to be Ad-Aware 5.0, release 5.5b, build 2.822 @ 6/2001. Ran it last night and it found three more bits of spy text in my cookies file.
    Worth doing...

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 5.0

    I ran the program tonight, and thankfully it did not find any invaders. My question is this -- how common are these invading programs? What risks do they pose?

    I try to keep my system clean of unwanted cookies, and most ad sites are permanently blocked from dropping cookies. I also periodically check the list of running programs to make sure they are supposed to be there (especially after checking out downloaded software). Anti-virus software, and now anti-ad software... @#$!%, it's hard to keep up with the game -- forget about getting ahead of it, right?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    When I installed the new version I just realised I don't have any icon in my Tray. And I can't see Ad-Watch anywhere. I think I must be doing something wrong.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Eileen_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    Hi

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    There is NO icon in the sys tray or on the desk top. This has a menu listing for the program and is NOR run in the background. One must run this program when ever one wants to check and clean their system. You are NOT doing thing wrong, if you are starting it from the 'Start menu'.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    I have one in my tray (see previous message), although it is acting more like a shortcut in the QuickLaunch bar, in that it is not running until you click on it.
    If you'd care to view my 28th May post 'Different Views' in the Windows 2000 Forum, the screen-shot shows it in the Systray - 2nd from left between Spychecker and Zone alarm.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    AdWare 4.5 - site moved

    David has the fastest d/l route, and there is also <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.lavasoftusa.com>http://www.lavasoftusa.com</A> for anyone blocked from German sites, as I am from work! Lavasoft keeps pumping out versions, I can't keep up!
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Ad-Aware 4.5

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by DaveA on 30-Sep-01 21:26.</P>Ad-Ware 4.5 has been released, go to <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.lavasoftusa.com>http://www.lavasoftusa.com</A> <img src=/S/dragon.gif border=0 alt=dragon width=17 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    New Version Ad-aware v4.51 update released 2001-02-07 <img src=/S/witch.gif border=0 alt=witch width=15 height=15> <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.lavasoftusa.com>http://www.lavasoftusa.com</A>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5 - site moved

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by DaveA on 30-Sep-01 21:28.</P>The site has moved. Here is the new download site (save yourself the redirect time). <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.lavasoftusa.com>http://www.lavasoftusa.com</A>

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    I can't seem to find the site anymore. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15> Any idea where it's gone--or is it just a temporary glitch?

    I found lavasoft.com, but that doesn't have anything to do with Ad-Aware. For lavasoftusa.com, I can't connect.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    The USA site is down and has been for some time try <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.lavasoft.de/>http://www.lavasoft.de/</A>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    Hi Dave:
    Thanks for the info. I was able to find it. Have you tried the RefUpdate V1.1 utility? It gives 3 potential sites: lavasoftusa (which I now know is down), voiceofthepublic (to which I can't connect) & lurkhere.com. The strange thing about the latter is that when I run the update utility (after renaming reflist.sig, so it thinks I don't have it), it gives a message that it's installing the new update...but doesn't...it's nowhere on my system. And it doesn't make a backup either.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware 4.5

    Latest update for Refupdate is 1.2
    After d/l the new update, you go to the Refupdate.exe>dbl click, and popup...hit 'connect', then it will do its' thing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •