Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp NOT joining nt4 server domain

    Me again.... client has XP Pro, so its not that..........

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp NOT joining nt4 server domain

    Bubs once more - have been troubleshooting and still cannot resolve the problem.
    TCP/IP, RAS, DHCP Server, DNS Server & WINS Server all seem to configured correctly and working fine. Event Log shows up nothing of concern.
    Error message received by client once they've dialled up, and then try to join domain is as follows:
    The domain name DOMAIN1 might be a NetBIOS domain name. If this is the case, verify that the domain name is properly registered with WINS.

    If you are certain that the name is not a NetBIOS domain name, then the following information can help you troubleshoot your DNS configuration.

    The following error occurred when DNS was queried for the service location (SRV) resource record used to locate a domain controller for domain DOMAIN1:

    The error was: "This operation returned because the timeout period expired."
    (error code 0x000005B4 ERROR_TIMEOUT)

    The query was for the SRV record for _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.DOMAIN1

    The DNS servers used by this computer for name resolution are not responding. This computer is configured to use DNS servers with the following IP addresses:

    193.113.209.46
    192.168.0.1

    Verify that this computer is connected to the network, that these are the correct DNS server IP addresses, and that at least one of the DNS servers is running.

    1st IP address is our ISP, second is my DNS Server.

    Any suggestions as to workarounds or fixes?

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    xp NOT joining nt4 server domain

    Post edited by Bubs 6th Feb 1859 UTC

    I cannot get an XP client to join my domain (consists of 1 workstation running win 2k pro & one server).
    Have tried guidance in MSKB - Q314366 refers
    We've tried to install NETBEUI at his end (recommended MSKB fix - Q301041 - doesn't work), and so went for NWLink IPX/ISX in order to get a second protocol up........
    He still gets chucked out - Windows XP cannot 'see' my dns server.
    HELP!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: xp NOT joining nt4 server domain

    This is probably gonna be a really stupid question, but on an XP Pro machine you have to turn OFF "Use Simple File Sharing" in Folder Options, View (way down at the bottom). Have you?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp NOT joining nt4 server domain

    Edited by DaveA added url code

    Still no solutions - if I ever find the answer I promise I'll post it....... <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>
    I'm still not sure if the problem is at client end - backwards compatibility XP Pro to NT4 - see MSKB article Q314861 - 'How domain controllers are located in XP' at:
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=/search/viewDoc.aspx?docID=KC.Q314861&dialogID=6143829&ite rationID=1&sessionID=anonymous|5446021>http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...onymous|5446021</A>

    Or have I just configured my server wrong...... <img src=/S/bif.gif border=0 alt=bif width=70 height=28>

    Pinging from the client end works with server IP address, and also resolves server name to the IP address.

    Should I have posted this thread to the NT board rather than the XP board? <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp NOT joining nt4 server domain

    Thanks bigaldoc - never underestimate the ignorance of the beginner / amateur.......this one had "ASSUMED" <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> that XP Pro would be the same as 2K Pro when it comes to joining a domain.

    Do I take it that 'simple / non-simple' file sharing is the crux of what enables XP Pro to network and XP Home not to?

    Prior to trying your fix, I had been tinkering with my DNS Server settings, so cannot be 110% sure that your post was the only problem - is it worth it / safe to try and replicate the problem in order to prove it?

    Again, thanks...... <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: xp NOT joining nt4 server domain

    Good deal, Bubs! Glad you're making headway. Although many years experience, I'm new to XP Pro and picked up the bit about file sharing here: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/xp_filesharing/>http://www.practicallynetworked.com/...p_filesharing/</A>. I don't have a Domain problem but I did want to create ACLs on my small home LAN and Tim's tutorial did the trick for me. Hope you too are well on the way. I have a Linksys router on my system too and everything's working fine.

    Edited by WyllyWylly to make link hot

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •