Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    ZoneAlarm Alerts

    I just installed ZoneAlarm on my new WinXP PC which is connected to the Internet via a cable modem.

    One of the alerts I keep getting occasionally says that "Generic Host Process for Win32 Services" is trying to access the Internet. Does anyone know what that program is or what it does or why it needs to access the Internet? I keep saying no (I'm having ZA prompt me so far) and I don't recognize anything that isn't working as expected. This ZA alert seems to happen when I click to do something local but the thing I'm initiating seems to work OK. Is there any reason to allow this thing to access the Internet?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    The message you are getting is because SVCHOST.EXE is running a process that wants to access the Internet. Read more about the SVCHOST.EXE ; also, don't worry about letting it connect to the Internet. Also look at article IDs <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q250320>Q250320 for Windows 2000 and <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q263201>Q263201 - Default Processes in Windows 2000</A>.

    It's not necessarily that there's any reason to let it access the Internet, but I can't think of a good reason not to, either.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Mark,

    Thanks for the info. I've enabled it both locally and on the Internet.

    What about "Services and Controller App", it has tried to access the Internet a time or two.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Hi Bill, it's much the same as the Generic Host Process. It's a component of Windows 2000/XP that allows access to net resources. I love the detail on this one - read the following item at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.zonelabs.com/services/support_programs.htm>Zone Labs' website</A>.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Thanks for the info Mark. I keep having a couple more alerts that are puzzling. One is that the Toshiba Pinger is trying to connect to the Internet. That may not be too surprising since this is a new Toshiba laptop but I'm going to try to find out from them why it needs to connect to the Internet.

    The other one is "process 1568 tried to connect to the Internet (216.174.33.2)". This one occurs fairly often and I don't have a clue what "process 1568" is. Do you have any idea?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Hi
    To find out what Zone Alarm is catching, get a-hold of Zone Log Analyser <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.zonelog.co.uk>here</A>

    Rgds

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Sadly I don't know what "Process 1568" is but when in doubt, I answer no, and try to locate the file on my system. You can right-click on most EXE and DLL files and see who made it, what it's function is, and make a judgement from there. I recall seeingNTBACKUP.EXE (the Microsoft backup program) asking for internet access and wondering why in the heck it would need to phone home.

    If you set "no" for process 1568 and everything runs OK, don't worry about it. Could be some third-party application trying to call home, which makes me leery. If you find something that doesn't run as a result, you can always go back into ZA and allow access. I'm still trying to figure out what ADP.EXE is and why it needed to get online. Took some diligence to remove it from my system but I finally did and I don't miss it. Maybe process 1568 is its brother? Just make sure you run a full virus scan and keep those definitions up to date!
    -Mark

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    That program looks useful! I've installed it and started using it.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Thanks for the reply Mark. I do keep my virus definitions up to date!

    My latest puzzle is that I keep getting ZoneAlarm alerts in which the place in the text that is supposed to show the name or other identification of the program is just blank! I keep refusing to give permission and most of the time I don't see any harm as a result. However, two times recently (yesterday and while writing this reply to you a few minutes ago) the PC completely hung and I had to hold down the Power On button to get out of it -- I don't think the hang was related to the alerts. After booting up again ZA had lost most of the access settings I had given it earlier and I got a lot more of the requests for Internet access, some of them with blank names. After refusing all the ones with blank names, IE could no longer access the Internet! I've shut down ZA in order to write this message. I had to do the same thing yesterday and I believe I un-installed and installed ZA and began all over again to define the acceptable Internet accesses. BTW, at some times I've said OK when I got the blank request but nothing new has shown up in the ZA Program list.

    Any ideas on how to get out of this mess?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    It sounds like the file that saves your settings is corrupted. I think the file is WINNTInternet LogsZALog.txt. Try deleting this file. You'll have to enter your settings all over again, but at least the file won't be corrupted.

    Fafner

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Well, that file looks like a 'normal' Log file where the alerts are logged. It certainly doesn't look like the place where settings would be permanently stored. But, I renamed it anyway and opened ZA and it created a new one so if that file was a problem, it has been replaced.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    It is not the place that ZA settings are stored - you're safe to delete it as many times as you want. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Thanks for the assurance, Mark. I was real sure of that myself but it's nice to hear it from someone else too. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Bill

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    Hi Bill
    Sorry if I've missed this in the thread somewhere, but you haven't by any chance got XP's built-in firewall active, have you? If so, try disabling it and using ZA only.

    Rgds

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Alerts

    I did disable the XP firewall a good while ago. I have done one Restore since then so I'll go make sure it is still disabled.

    Thanks,
    Bill

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •