Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Maximize All Windows

    There must be a trick to automatically maximize every window you open.

    I know you can drag the borders to "resize" and Windows will remember that size for that window but that is not maximized.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    On the basis that IE remembers its last state:

    Find your shortcut to IE
    Right_click > Properties
    In the Run field select 'Maximized'

    At least it's a start....

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    Not only for IE, but most of the shortcuts can be set to run maximized.
    Francois

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    Yes, I know about setting the shortcut to maximize, which I have done for IE6 and others. A perfect example of what I am talking about is when I replied to this post from my email program. I clicked on the link in the email and that started IE6, only the window opened about 1/3 size because earlier I had used the "Tile Windows Vertically".

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    I don't know the answer I'm afraid - it sounds like you need to add a 'maximize' switch in the URL: HTTP option in Explorer > Tools > File Types as that is where it is being started from.

    Otherwise, F11?

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    I think this should solve the problem:
    1) Open the window and manually resize the window to your desired size.
    Make sure you manually resize it.
    2) Then close the window with the X up on the Exp. Title Bar while holding down the
    Ctrl. button simultaneously.
    When you reopen, it'll stay the size you specified.
    This has always worked for me.
    I have a windows size problem with certain sites or more commonly if I play with the
    window size. But this will always fix it for me.
    I posted this previously in another forum and the gentleman said it didn't help him--but it works well
    for me and several other people and it is definitely not confined to one session or changed by
    rebooting. The key seems to be to manually resize the window before killing it while holding down
    Ctrl.

    defrag

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    What you suggest works, but it does not "Maximize" the window, it just remembers the size you manually set.

    What I am looking for is a way to have ALL windows (not just IE windows) open Maximized. i.e. I would prefer to have every window for every program always open Maximized, then I could manually make them smaller if I desired.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    Hi
    Get IE Maximizer from my website. Also try AutoSizer from <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.southbaypc.com/free_utilities.asp>here</A>
    Both free.

    Click My Sig #79

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    It doesn't guarantee every window will be maximized when you open it if
    you manipulate them, but if you maximize the window manually and
    "Kill/Ctrl key" that window after it has been maximized, it's been my
    experience that it will remember you manually set it as maximized.
    I suppose you are referring to a number of 3rd party applications which
    do typically open smaller with the option to maximize them with a
    click, but I find that a convenience because it allows me to juggle some
    other applications with it up.
    The Maximizer application looks like it will do what you want hopefully.

    defrag

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    What do you mean "Kill/Ctrl key"? I've never seen that before!

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Maximize All Windows

    Here is another one BoogieButton It main thing is to rearrange the order of the taskbar application using drop and drag but it also remember windows settings like sizes and location.

    Making all windows maximized. This apps seems to do the trick but with a couple of seconds delay. To set it one should maximize the application windows first and then shift -clicking the taskbar item would let boogie button remember its state (size & location) I guess you have to do this on at least once in every program you want launched in the max mode. Give it a whirl this might be what you want. Oh for now it doesn't work with Win XP yet.

    Win Xp though is not yet supported.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •