Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    When I convert text to table I have to reset the Properties so that the table is evern with the left margin.

    How do I set the <table border=1> [Properties] [Indent from left] default to 0.0" instead of 1.5" ?

    <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    I think Word tries to set the columns based on the indents and tab stops in your text. What is the paragraph format of these paragraphs and can you change that in advance to avoid the problem?

    (As for the original question, I don't know. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>)

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    Thanks for the quick reply. I believe that you are correct. Perhaps there is a way to force the properties as the text is converted to a table (two columns per row). There are tabs but no indents until the conversion is finished and ready to be copied.

    I am taking data from a screen that is in Ms. Access; using the copy routine to paste it into Ms. Word; then running a macro to reformat the result. The last thing that is done is to have Ms. Word convert the text to a table; then, convert the table to text so that the output can be pasted into a Ms. Outhouse message in two neatly formatted columns.

    With the number of applications that I usually have open (3 - 11 depending upon the current task), I really do not wish to force the "RAM" envelope by using Ms. Word as the text editor [with delusions of grandure] in Ms. Outlook. (Thanks for the thought.)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    On the last point, I certainly don't recommend WordMail.

    Could it be that the Access headings are centered and the table conversion is picking up on that? (I find they are centered within their cells when pasting into Excel; haven't tried into Word.)

    Perhaps you don't need to go through the intermediate step of converting to a table and back again. Once you have selected the rows, could you simply direct-format the tab settings? Is there more to the formatting than that?

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    Well sir, I have created a work around because it is not possible to use the output of a form in Ms. Access without creating a PDF. We have enough problem moving email without adding elebenty attachments. as for the Ms. Access -> Word -> Outhouse route: The problem is that I am using the data from the fields that are identified in the form. The data are captured directly from the form (the data are not fetched from the database except as described in the fields in the form).

    When the "item" is first pasted into Ms. Worm, it looks like a two rows from a spreadsheet (a header row and a data row). It is then converted to text. Next, the paragraphs are reordered so that the data are presented after the field name and a Tab. The whole mess is then converted to a table; then, the messy table is converted to text.

    Could a solution be to set up a mask in Ms. Worm and pull the data from the Access database? How would I fetch the correct row?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    Well, there is a certain attraction to doing it from the Access side. Let's assume this is possible, and then get the people on the Access board to make it work. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    You add a button to the form that will output the "current" record (this might be the selected row) to the desired format in a Word document. Something like this:

    <pre>Private Sub MyButton_Click()
    ' Set a reference in Tools, References to the Microsoft Word 9.0 Object Library
    ' First get a handle on the data you want to throw into Word
    Dim strFieldData As String
    strFieldData = Me.Recordset.Fields("Desc").Value
    ' Repeat as needed or populate an array or something
    'Then create and populate your Word doc
    Dim wrd As New Word.Application, doc As Word.Document
    Set doc = wrd.Documents.Add(Template:="Special Template With Custom Style Defined")
    doc.Paragraphs(1).Style = "Style With Desired Tab Settings"
    doc.Range.InsertAfter "Field label" & vbTab & strFieldData & vbCrLf
    ' Repeat as needed
    doc.Activate
    Set doc = Nothing
    Set wrd = Nothing
    End Sub</pre>

    You also could pack all the data into a big string before starting up Word, and simply .InsertAfter strBigString. That's probably the more efficient approach for multiple fields from the same record.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    I have a subroutine that prints the current form that is being displayed in Ms. Access. All that I have to do is to click on the box and the page automagically prints on my default printer.

    'On Click [Event Procedure]' ~~~~~~~~~~

    Private Sub Print_Form_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_Print_Form_Click

    DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 8, , acMenuVer70
    DoCmd.PrintOut acSelection

    Exit_Print_Form_Click:
    Exit Sub

    Err_Print_Form_Click:
    MsgBox Err.Description
    Resume Exit_Print_Form_Click

    End Sub

    ~~~~~~~~~~

    The properties show that this is driven by a button labeled 'Print Form' and says that it is 'Picture (bitmap)' . I wonder if this could be modified in the to which you have alluded?

    Onward, sir - do the Access board have an answer?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    Go ahead and start a new thread on <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/postlist.pl?Cat=&Board=acc>the Access Board</A>. It's a good idea to tell them that if they want more information, they should look at this thread. You can create a link in your message back to this thead by copying the following URL and surrounding it with [url ] and [/url ] markup tags (leave out the space and whatever is in between magically turns into a link).

    http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.p...d&Number=116480

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Default Table Properties (Word 2000 9.0 SR-1)

    It should be interesting to see what the Access Board says.

    Thank you and good day.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •