mick729

Explorer Error Message

[img]/w3timages/icons/frown.gif[/img]I have Win Me and I have been getting an error message ever since install of it. The error message is: Explorer has caused an error in Kernel32.DLL and will close. Then it freezes and I lose most of my icons on the task bar and it crashes and I have to reboot. I am a beginner and don't know what to do to get this fixed or stop it. So, if anyone can help I would sure appreciate it, but PLEASE make it step by step. I know that's asking a lot but everyone was a beginner once. Thanks, Michele

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Explorer Error Message

The first question is, when does the error occur? On startup? When you try to open a program? Or is it just completely sporadic and unpredictable?

The second question: was this an upgrade from a previous version of Windows? Perhaps 95 or 98/98SE? Or was it a clean install?

The sad part of this is that KERNEL32.DLL is a key component of Windows. It could be caused by a great number of things.

The first step, I believe, would be to make sure that all of your software drivers are current. Most likely to cause problems: the video card. If you don't know how to find out what video card, or any hardware, in the system is, you can do so easily by going to Start -> Settings -> Control Panel and opening the system applet. Click on the device manager tab and you will see a list of items with + signs next to them. Display adapter is the video card.

No quick fix, I'm afraid - but the more information you can provide, the more quickly we can eliminate possibilities.
    -Mark

mick729