Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Even after going back to the original CDs and loading every imaginable bell and whistle, I still can't make the Marquee option available on the Insert | Components menu in FP2000. The option appears, but it's grayed-out. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Try fiddling with your compatibility settings... Marquee is grayed out with these settings, for example.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    I fiddled with it some this morning. But even with all the "technologies" checked on, Marquee was still grayed out. (BTW, why is it that when everything is checked, Browsers Versions and Servers change to "Custom"?) My current settings are...

    ...well, I can't get the file attachment feature to work, but every technology is checked except ActiveX and VBScript. Browser versions = 4 and later. Servers = custom, but I don't know why (or what it means anyhow). But like I said, even with all technologies checked, Marquee is still unavailable. I'm still missing something, right?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    If you have checked all available technologies, you sound like you've included Netscape.
    Which is why you can't do it.

    FP2000: Marquee Component Not Available to Insert onto Web Page (Q261280)

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
    Posts
    305
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    I also have this problem, so was reading your advise. Where are you to get the Page Option screen? I do not find this.
    lynndelap

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Leif,

    No, I hadn't actually checked all. That was just one configuration I tried to see if I could get Marquee to become available. My normal settings look like the attached file.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Lynn:

    Tools | Page Options | Compatibility Tab from the menu bar will do the trick.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
    Posts
    305
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Okay my Markee works, but the blink option for the fonts does not. Any ideas on why? Thank you!
    lynndelap

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Yes, because MS have actually produced something which is not compatible with IE!!!

    HOW TO: Use the Compatibility Tab in FrontPage 2000 (Q219679)
    <hr>
    If you select Microsoft Internet Explorer , Both Internet Explorer and Navigator , or Microsoft Web TV in the Browsers list, the following setting is unavailable:
    Blink check box (on the Format menu, click Font ). <hr>

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    A bit of delving shows that blinking is not that well supported. NS4 supports it, but NS6 appears not to. No version of IE appears to.

    Some reasonable general font info here at NCDesign

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
    Posts
    305
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Leif, Thanks for the info. I am not an expert at all on these things. I did our website www.svbest.com with Frontpage and would like to redo it this summer. May want to add something using Swish. Any other suggestions for a better site? I know Frontpage has some good templates on the Internet too. <img src=/S/headthrob.gif border=0 alt=headthrob width=15 height=15>
    lynndelap

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Hey - Swish is neat!

    You may want to have a look at CoffeeCup.

    Edited to add:

    And also The JavaScript Source which includes a Text Fader

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Marquee Option not Available (2000)

    Leif,

    Does this mean that Marquee will only work with one browser or the other, and, if so, which one? Furthermore, how can a newbie determine the abilities and limitations of each brower?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •