Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Add Windows Components

    When I use SetUp to add/remove additional windows components I'm immediately presented with an enabled "Next>" button (even if I do not click to add and/or remove).
    When I click "Next>" something starts updating but stops at many files. A dialog box comes asking me where to find a compressed (e.g. blabla.DL_) file. The directory windows is looking in is C:I386 (but that failed, hence the dialog).
    Strangely enough, the file IS PRESENT in that directory!!! I have to edit the directory displayed in the dialog box and add a backslash (c:I386), then it works.
    Next however, Windows tells me (dialog box again) that it cannot find the decompressed file (blabla.DLL) ????? This is however also present in e.g. c:windowssystem32....
    (actually, it is/was already present before I point to the compressed file in the first place)

    Anyway, if I ignore and repeat all of this a dozen times or so the 'update' seems to end successfully.... However, next time I enter in the Setup, all starts over again....

    Seems I messed up pretty badly (see also my post about Start-Menu's lost). Looks as if Windows lost track of where it stored things...

    Nevertheless, the system seems to be working OK.....

    Anybody??? Please???

    Erik Jan

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Baudette, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    I seem to have had the same problem, and wound up formatting and reinstalling. Could you tell me what the last software you installed was (and I'll try to remember what I had last put in), and maybe we can get to the bottom of this. Look at my post "usbprint.sys" and you'll see I was having similar problems. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    I'm almost afraid to tell.... most of what I recall is that I've been installing all my software & games on my new system. The last thing however was that I was able to connect to internet and of course the first thing I did was download MS suggested critical security updates.... (I'm not sure which ones now but I can check, believe there were four...)...

    From that moment the setup thing started and -and that's even worse- I lost the display of menu's from "All users"... (see parallel post).

    Erik Jan

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Baudette, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    Well, it's possible that one of those critical updates cripples WinXP's use of system files, but I would doubt it. I would think that both of us are using some third party software that does it. I would put Easy CD Creator 5 Platinum at the top of my list, because of the way it messes up the WinXP shutdown (what business does it have messing THERE?).

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    That's funny... one of the things I installed was... Easy CD Creator 5 Platinum...

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Baudette, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    So, did you do the gymnastics suggested at the Roxio website to get your computer to shut down like it should? I'm wondering if that "patch" isn't what breaks the WinXP file recognition. Perhaps one of us should start another thread on that topic?

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    Yes... I did follow instructions. I didn't have that many problems with Roxio stuff. Burned a couple of CD's, which all went along flawlessly...
    Do you really think this has been causing us the trouble(s) we have in common???

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Baudette, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    Obviously I can't be sure, but I haven't installed it (yet) and, so far, no probs. I do intend to install it again (can't afford to flush the purchase price, after all) and I'll post if it corrupts my system. Another suspect is Norton SW, but I HAVE installed that, and so far, so good. Could be the Norton Registry Cleaner, which I've carefully avoided using. Hey, does your System Restore work? It didn't on my first install, and still doesn't. Tells me to reboot and try again, but that doesn't help.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    Only have Norton AntiVirus (2002), no problems. Although I've always been a "Norton Utility" user, I've decided to abandon that in XP.
    Never played with system restore, I'm still installing and configuring too much now... maybe later?

    Erik Jan

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Olympia, WA, Washington, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    I have CD Creator 5 platinum and did the update dance and everything works fine. If you have registry Cleaner in your Norton Utilites you have the wrong version. The version (2002) that works with xp has NO registry programs anymore.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Add Windows Components

    This is an effort to re-vitalize my original post... Although my system works fine, I'm still having the problem as indicated. I'm thinking about re-installing all of XP but I'd love to be able to avoid that and fix this in a different way...

    I'd appreciate any suggestions...

    Erik Jan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •