JamesP

Subquery Problem

I am attempting to use a subquery to filter the return of another query. This is my first attempt [img]/w3timages/icons/baby.gif[/img] and I have not been successful. My sub query is:
    (SELECT RT.LineNumber, RT.Section, RT.Subsection, RT.Affix, RT.Footage, Max(RT.InspectionDate) AS MaxOfInspectionDate
    FROM ThicknessReadings AS RT
    WHERE (((RT.LineNumber)="1C") AND ((RT.Section)=1) AND ((RT.Subsection)=2) AND ((RT.Affix)=""))
    GROUP BY RT.LineNumber, RT.Section, RT.Subsection, RT.Affix, RT.Footage
    Now I was hoping to use this sub queries results as a "candidate list" for the main query, which includes all the fields from the table in question, by using:
    WHERE RT.LineNumber, RT.Section, RT.Subsection, RT.Affix, RT.InspectionDate IN
    Is this possible? Is there another way?

Thanks!!!!!

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Subquery Problem

You can do what you are attempting but, Access will only let you have a single field in the SELECT for the sub query.

SELECT RT.LineNumber FROM.....

This subquery would then go in the WHERE for the RT.LineNumber column of the main query.

Hope this helps

Richard Aheron
    raheron@hotmail.com
    [img]/w3timages/icons/grin.gif[/img]
    Richard

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

You need to return a single field from your subquery for comparison in your main query. Then you use either an "exists" or an "in" keyword to compare a field value in the main query. Exists is broader, In is faster in most cases. When you use negation (Not In), the Exists is usually faster.

If your records in ThicknessReadings contain a unique key, return that from your subquery. Then you can compare the unique key in your main query to the subquery result based on the Where clause in the subquery.

Does that help you at all?
    Charlotte

JamesP

Thanks Richard and Charlotte!
    It does help in a way of letting me know what is stopping me.