Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    RADMIN Remote Control Software

    Can anyone comment on this software? I'm looking for something like VNC, pcAnywhere, or Laplink to use on my small, in-home network of machines. pcAnywhere is pretty pricey for a small in-home network user like me and VNC, although free, doesn't do file transfer and I don't even know if it will work with Windows XP Pro. RADMIN is located at:

    http://www.radmin.com/

    Thanks,
    Al

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: RADMIN Remote Control Software

    If you have Windows XP Pro, why do you need a third party software?
    Have you heard of :
    Remote Desktop
    Whether you're telecommuting from home or traveling away from the office, Windows XP helps you work where you are. Learn how to connect to your office from home or another location, and to change your settings depending on where you are and what you need to do.

    <font color=red>AND</font color=red>

    Remote Assistance
    Providing help using Remote Assistance Sometimes the best way to help someone fix a problem is to demonstrate a solution. If you are invited, Remote Assistance is a convenient way for you to connect to a friend's computer from your computer running a compatible operating system, such as Microsoft Windows XP, in order to walk your friend through a solution.

    After you are connected, you will be able to view your friend's computer screen and chat together in real time about what you both see. With your friend's permission, you can even use your mouse and keyboard to work with your friend on his or her computer.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RADMIN Remote Control Software

    Uh Huh! Try it, you may like it!

    Al

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RADMIN Remote Control Software

    No disrespect intended in my last post Dave! To be fair, I should be a tad more specific, I guess. Well, Remote Desktop is kinda like ICS was in Win98SE. ICS worked, but spending money on a Linksys router was much more efficient for ME. Remote Desktop works but man, is it SLOW! And certainly not the most intuitive thing to setup. I got so used to the third-party programs that I guess I'm spoiled. It's worth it to me to spend a little dough and get the job done right. I've been using pcAnywhere for a long time, both on my LAN at home and back and forth to the computer at work. But I no longer work, so my only "internet" use is between me and my son at his home. pcAnywhere is a tad pricey and even though I "own" version 10, Symantec wants $100 bucks to "upgrade" to 10.5.1 which works under WinXP! So, I stumbled on this Remote Administrator (RADMIN) and was looking for input from someone who might have used it.

    I don't want to get into a diatribe about Mr. Bill, but I'm not too pleased with Win XP so far. It's like all the previous versions - it's better than the last one, but.....

    Hope you didn't take offense. AND, if you know of, or discover any tricks to make Remote Desktop work faster, maybe you could spread the word, huh?

    Nice "talkin' to ya"

    Al

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: RADMIN Remote Control Software

    No offense taken or received.

    I do not use these services very much, but have found the the only difference in speed is based on the CONNECTION. i.e., dial up, T1, cable, dsl and adsl.

    As for Bill and company, I feel that they put out a good product, but, and lot of the third party venders do not use the control that they should and muck up the operation of Windows. This is were the "Protected" dll's come in. This is a great move on MS's behalf. The overwriting of the dll by several third parties will do nothing but muck up things.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RADMIN Remote Control Software

    I'm WITH YOU 100% Dave, on the subject of software/hardware vendors who "mess" with or replace Windows system files! Microsoft HAS done their best to "protect' the operating system AND user from such capricious "vandalism."

    Now, back to the subject of Remote Administrator. Evidently I haven't gotten lucky with a Lounge reader who's also a user. Oh well..... I've been using the product for a few days now and I like it a lot so far. It's very FAST, easy to setup and configure and the price is right (for a small user). Not sure I would say that for the price of site licensing however. As soon as I get a chance to set it up on my son's computer at his home I'll be able to say more about how it works across the net. But here on my LAN it's just fine.

    Al

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RADMIN Remote Control Software

    Did you ever set up this software, and if so, how did it work? I work for a non-profit and we are looking for a low-cost way to connect users from home to office. This looks good to me, but I would like to hear from someone who has actually used it.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RADMIN Remote Control Software

    Oh, you bet I did and I LOVE it! For me, the price was right too. As I said in my earlier post, I don't know if the price for MANY licenses is so good, but the software performs beautifully. I have it installed on the computers in my home network and on my son's computer (remote). It is fast and has not failed one time for us. I've done a lot of assistance and diagnostic work on my son's computer for him. I would be happy to give RADMIN a big thumbs up. I also stumbled on the fact that there is someone here in the U. S. claiming to be the distributor of that software. When I bought it I did so from this link. Since that time, I stumbled on the fact that someone calling themselves Sunbelt Software claims to be the U. S. distributor for the product. Whatever.....

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RADMIN Remote Control Software

    Thanks. Just the news I wanted to hear. I think we will be getting individual licenses for people who want to use it from home, so that would work great!

    Thanks again for the quick response. I love this place! <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>

    Tia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •