Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    I never had this problem much until the last few days. Whenever I go to a web page it seems like quite a few of the pictures on that page don't come up (I get a white box with a little red "x" in the upper left hand corner). Thanks in advance for any help !

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    Give us a link to a site that you are having problems. If it is NOT ALL sites then I would think that it maybe a site problem and not your local browser.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    It does seem like it is almost all websites but here is the culprit I go to most if you want to try it: <A target="_blank" HREF="http://moneycentral.msn.com/home.asp">
    MoneyCentral.com</A> Also I have all my bookmarks in a file on my taskbar in Win98SE and when I click on a link the "Print "Page comes up. Thanks for any help!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    I went to the site you posted and all is fine.

    Now with your system what changes have you made?

    What software have you installed or uninstalled?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    I hate to say this but I am not sure what system changes I have made and as far as software goes I have installed and uninstalled 6 or 7 programs, two of which were IE substitutes that I didn't like: Reasearch Desk an myIE Web Browser. After you made me remember this I figured that either one of these could have left some tell tale "stuff" behind effecting IE6 so I went to Add/Remove and ran the IE6 repair and that seemed to solve the graphics problem so far. Would that make any sense for that to work ?
    Now I am left with the strange situation that when I click on the "Links" toolbar in the taskbar of Win98SE and select a website, the print dialogue comes up rather than the selected website in IE6. If I select "OK" it does indeed print the webpage. I checked and made sure that the printer is the default printer. I recently dowloaded a program called ClickBook so I don't know if this is effecting this situation. Any thoughts ? Thanks in advance for your help !!!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    Where is this found "I click on the "Links" toolbar in the taskbar of Win98SE " ?

    I do not remember having a "Links" toolbar in Windows 98. Is this the Links toolbar that is in IE?
    If so, you might want to moveyou defined links to another folder using Windows Explorer or My Computer, and then delete the 'Links" folder. It will be remade when you start up IE. It is a required folder for IE.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    This is an option to add "Links" to your Windows 'Quicklauch' Toolbar section of the Taskbar. (see image). This is just a shortcut into this folder: C:WINDOWSFavoritesLinks.

    This sounds like an error in the registry that may have been caused by one of the programs you installed. The objects in the Links folder are "URL's" -- or Internet Shortcuts. The section of the registry that control the default behavior when you click on a URL is this:

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTInternetShortcutshell

    The "shell" folder (key) should have several sub-folders underneath it -- edit, open, print, and printto. But, the shell folder should also have a (Default) entry that should be empty (null). When you select the "shell" folder, the right window pane should look like this:

    [ab] (Default) | (value not set)

    If there is something else in there -- for example "print", then that explains your problem. Delete print and you should be finished.

    However, if the Default value is empty (not set), then the problem may be in the "open" sub-folder. Click on that next. Under that should be another folder named "command". Click on command. The (Default) value for this should be:

    "rundll32.exe shdocvw.dll,OpenURL %l"

    If any other Default value is present, then this is your problem. Change the opencommand (Default) value to be the line above -- with out the quotes.

    I would hope that will fix this problem...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    Thanks for the help ... I tried the 1st registry entry you suggested and sure enough it was tied up by one of the previous IE substitute programs I had tried and "deleted". When I changed it to "value not set" everything returned to normal. Thanks Again !!!

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Graphics don't show properly (6.0)

    I've been experiencing the same problem over the last few months and have been following every post on this topic. So far, nothing that has been suggested solves the problem for my system. As with the solution posted here, everything on my system is OK.

    I'm running Win98 SE with IE 6 with all the latest security patches. I began to see the problem after installing 6.0 on top of 5.5 and then adding the security patches. If I uninstall 6.0, then graphics are displayed for a session or two and then I am back to the same problem.

    Occassionally I get an error message that points to being unable to read scripts. But this is intermittant. It occurs on a web site one day and then not the next. If I look under Encloding, it is always on Western European ISO. If I manually change to WEstern European Windows, then the graphics are OK. But I have to do this with every single page. It is easier and less frustrating to use Netscape.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •