Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    network newbie:PROGRESS

    I don't know how it happened, but two machines kissed and made up last night. The network icons for the Win2k laptop and the Win98se desktop appeared in one another's Network Neighborhoods enabling me to transfer files from the laptop to the desktop where I hope to make a backup to a CDRW.

    Oddly enough, however, I received the following message from the Win98se desktop when I booted it first
    <hr>The system has detected a conflict for IP address 192.168.0.1 with the system having hardware address 00:06:29:95:24:4B The interface has been disabled<hr>
    What does that mean, and what do I do about it?

    I booted the Win2k laptop and rec'd this mssg
    <hr>The system has detected an IP address conflict with another system on the network. The local interface has been disabled. More details are available in the system event log. Consult network administrator to resolve the conflict.<hr>
    First off, where is this system event log and, second, the network adminsitrator won't be much for consultation since that's me [img]/w3timages/icons/frown.gif[/img]

    Somehow I managed to set up a system tray icon in the Win2k laptop that tells me the Local Area Connection is active, but I'm 404 on how to get it to appear in the Win98se desktop systray. Any clues?

    Spkg of the Win2k systray icon, it tells me I have a ten Mbps speed, but I'm sure the IBM 10/100 EtherJet CardBus Adapter can go to 100. How??

    I also found a way to make an Internet Connection Sharing Client floppy disk from the Win98se desktop but haven't tried it in the Win2k laptop since they're different operating systems.

    What's the trick to enabling the two machines to share an Internet connection?

    And, FWIW, I'm 404 on how to repeat the progress I've made. My pragmatism is really evident in this stuff!

    Looking forward to some great help! TIA

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network newbie:PROGRESS

    Great to hear you're making progress!
    A few ramblings until the experts get in:
    1] IP conflict - this sounds to me like you have two NIC's setup with the same IP address. You don't have 2 NIC's in one machine, do you?
    2] Event log in W2K:- Start/Settings/Control Panel/ Administrative Tools/Event Viewer. There you will see 3 logs - the system log is the one you want to check out.
    3] While you're in Event Viewer, select each log in turn. Action/Properties/general and set the max log size to something like 512K and select Overwrite files as needed. This will prevent 'log full' messages suddenly popping up one day.
    4] Network speed. I suspect somewhere something is only capable of 10Mbps. Is the hub auto-switching 10/100? I also think setting the NIC's to Auto is the preferred option rather than trying to force them to 100Mbps.
    HTH

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: network newbie:PROGRESS

    Hi,
    I would say, as you've only got two computers on your network (that you've mentioned), the NICs in them may have the same IP address, hence the conflict. I may be wrong though as they are both talking to each other - what networking protocols are you running? Alternatively, Leif's suggestion of you having 2 NICs in one machine may be the cause.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network newbie:PROGRESS

    Thanks for the encouragment!
    1) Someone told me how to change IP addresses, and I saw the tip in http://www.lockergnome.com

    I selected the Overwrite as needed. Thanks for looking out for me.

    Thanks for the help [img]/w3timages/icons/smile.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network newbie:PROGRESS

    There are two physical computers, but the desktop has a 9G drive booting Win98se and a 4G drive booting WinMe. Say, if you or anyone else knows the tips to setting up the configuration for WinMe I'd be doubly delighted!

    What would it take for the WinMe system to 'communicate' with the Win2k laptop?

    And, oh, yes... the IP addresses were changed.

    I'm running the NetBEUI protocol.

    Thanks for the heads-up!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •