Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Word2000 (SR1)

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    New York City, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word2000 (SR1)

    I have a table of 895 names and I want to add another column with the same info in all 895 fields.....is there a way to do that without my having to type/copy or click in every single box? <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Word2000 (SR1)

    To duplicate a table column, select the column (from the top, you should see a short, thick down-arrow indicating you can click to select the column), copy, then click to select the row-end-markers and paste. Alternately, you can try to ctrl+click and drag a copy of the column, but it's trickier. Does this do it?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Word2000 (SR1)

    If you're trying to add a new column which will have new content, which will be same in every cell, then: first, insert a column. Then type the info you need to have repeated, in the first cell in the column. Select the text (or the entire cell, it works either way) and then Copy. Next, select the entire column and Paste.

    Gary

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    New York City, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word2000 (SR1)

    Gary!!!!!! Thank you so-o-o-o-o-o-o much.....you have solved my problem. I really appreciate the quick response time also.....I only hope that one day I'll be able to give someone an answer as I am always asking for assistance.
    <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    New York City, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word2000 (SR1)

    Thanks for the response to my question.......I appreciate your prompt response; however, the proper answer was in the second reply....I needed to place words in the column after it was added to the existing table.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •