Star Lounger
    Thanks

Synchronisation (2000)

HELP!! Have a database at work set up by someone else with a design master and 3 replicas. My Access knowledge is that of "baby designer" in that I can design applications, but am still getting to grips with programming. 3 Outworkers synchronise from p.c.s at home to 3 replicas on zip drives which are then uploaded and synchronised via an integral zip drive onto main p.c. on site. They have had problems since database designed 2 years ago, but now problems getting really bad. Both design master and replicas full of outdated information and database size is large. I have little experience of synchronised databases, but my feeling is that this method of synchronisation is inherantly insecure, and that, if we have to continue to run it, new replicas might be required. Can anyone give me some pointers urgently on what I should know before I start?? Where do I start??

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Synchronisation (2000)

Francois

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

We'd be glad to help, but what problem do you want help with? What do you mean by outdated information? Certainly, any data that was previously entered is still going to be there unless you have a utility to archive it.

Creating new replicas won't change the data in the database. Please explain exactly what problem you're encountering and what you want to do about it.
    Charlotte

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks for replies. One of the problems is there is no archive utility built into this database and it is now huge. Replicas won't synchronise properly due to "unknown error" -1603, or simply drops information. Does this sound familiar to anyone?

Super Moderator
    Thanks