Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    Is there a way to specify the length of a text field on import? I have a specifications file defined to preserve field names and types, but I end up with the default text field length of 255 characters for all of the text fields. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger GARYPSWANSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    Are you using delimeters such as a comma or tab to separate the vaules of the imported data?
    Regards,

    Gary
    (It's been a while!)

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    If it is a delimited file, the only way is to define the table before the import and import the file in the predefined table.
    Francois

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    I'm using a CSV file.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    I do have the table predefined. What I would like to do is preserve the text field definitions that already exist. Again, any help would be appreciated.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    Are you saying that importing in a existing table, overwrite the field definitions ?
    Francois

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    Yes. I'm using the Test Import Wizard, with field names and field types defined as a spec. When I get through the various screens on the wizard, I respond yes in response to the prompt, "OK to overwrite existing table?". The text fields are all re-set to 255 characters. I am just looking to repopulate an existing table with a new CSV file.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    Before Importing, empty you table (Open table, type CTRL-A and Delete)
    In the import Wizard, when you are asked "Where you would like to store data ?" , use In an Existing Table and select the table in the combo box.
    This will preserve the setting of you table.
    .
    Francois

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Import Wizard (Access 97 SR2)

    Thanks for your patience. Your suggestion works fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •