Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    Some Win2k users have missing menu and toolbars in Excel. I know that you can delete c:winntusername8.xlb to restore them. However, that file only exists if the user has write acces to the Winnt folder which these user's don't.

    How can I restore the toolbars for these users?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    2,697
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    Kevin,

    Try Tools, Customize and select tthe Toolbars tab. If any are unchecked, just switch them back on. You can also Reset the toolbars, to the original settings.

    That should fix things.

    Andrew

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    There is no menu bar so there's no Tools to click on!

    I tried opening the IDE, immediate window and entering the command:

    Appplication.commandbars(1).reset

    That should have brought back the Worksheet Menu bar. No dice.

    Ahhhhhh!
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    2,697
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    Try

    Application.CommandBars.Add(Name:="Kevin").Visible = True

    in the immediate window. That should create a blank toolbar. Right click on it and select Customize, and you should be cruising.

    Andrew

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    Thanks Andrew, I'll give that a try.

    BTW, in Word the toolbar settings are stored in normal.dot AND the DATAToolbars reg keys.

    Is there reg hive or key for Excel toolbar settings?

    I've been all over the MS KB. Nothing.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    Your code didn't work on my machine. Try this:

    Sub Redo()
    For Each cbar In CommandBars
    If cbar.BuiltIn = True Then
    cbar.Reset
    ' If cbar.Type = 1 Then 'only add this if you're desperate
    ' cbar.Visible = True
    ' End If
    End If
    Next cbar
    End Sub
    Gre

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    Le Code de moi?

    Didn't work for me either, so I'll give yours a try too!

    Thanks.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    It sounds like the menu bar has been moved off the top of the screen. Try right clicking on the Excel ibon on the Task Bar and then select maxamize, or click on Move and use the down arrow to move the window.
    Legare Coleman

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    Kevin,
    Does this work for you:
    application.Dialogs(xlDialogCustomizeToolbar).Show
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    This worked to get me a dummy toolbar from which to call up the customize menu. When I did that neither the worksheet menu bar, standard nor formatting toolbars were avialble on the toolbar list.

    I did find "chart menu bar" and set that one on. It looks just like the WorkSheet Menu bar. So that was something.

    I then knew what was wrong. The other toolbars were disabled, so

    commandbars("Formatting").enabled = true
    commandbars("Formatting").visible = true

    brought them back.

    Thanks for helping! Success!
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    The missing piece was

    Commandbars("Formatting").enabled = true

    All the resetting and visibling did nothing until I set enabled to true. Thanks for your help.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    No that wasn't it. I discovered that the missing toolbars were disabled. Setting the enabled AND visible properties to true did the trick.

    Thanks for idea, though. It was an intelligent guess.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing Toolbars (97SR2)

    I never got to your idea, Rory, 'cause I solved it up a few posts.

    The enabled property was set to false. Setting it to true for the missing commandbars did the trick. Thanks.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •