Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    Has this happened to anyone else?

    I have successfully used a file since July 2001, adding a new record (row) containing 20 fields to it daily. There is a worksheet for each month, and a row for each work day. Also for each month, I have a set of six charts, each in its own worksheet. At the end of the month I have been relocating the charts into the companion worksheeet.

    Now, approximately since my System Support experts loaded DataWatch's Monarch Pro V6 to my workstation (IBM with 64Mb RAM and 8Gb HD), whenever I make certain changes I get the "Out of Memory" error msg window. [Sometimes this is accompanied by a Dr. Watson crash -- access violation.]

    Today, in the routine monthly creation of a new worksheet and new graphs, I copied a graph to a new graph worksheeet, and the message came up, stacked six deep! When I tried to correct the formatting of a text box, I also got the message. I also keep getting the message when I click on menu item "Chart | Chart Options".

    The file is only 433Mb. I have virtually unlimited storage capacity on a shared file server. The file is password-protected for both access and revision. It has no links. Up to this week, there never has been such an error.

    Has this happened to anyone else? Where should I start troubleshooting?

    Please let me know if it would help for me to post one or two of the sheets from this file...

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    Hi John,
    A couple of questions for you:
    1. I assume 433MB was a typo? (that would be a very big spreadsheet!)
    2. Does it only happen with this workbook? Are you creating new worksheets from a template?
    3. What OS are you running and have you tried doing a Ctrl-Shift-Escape to bring up the task manager and see what your available resources are?
    It may be worth posting a sample so we can at least try and eliminate workbook corruption as an issue.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    Rory:
    1) Right; file size = 433Kb, not 433Mb! <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>
    2) Happening only in this workbook. I create the new worksheets by copying the most recent active worksheet, and editing out the existing data. For the graphic files, I meticulously review the objects on each, and re-direct them to look at the data in the new data worksheet, not the existing worksheet. That includes the automatically-generated text boxes, as you see.
    3) Running on WinNT4.0, and Novell Netware. I haven't used Task Manager. (I just checked it; it seems to be just the usual 45 or so processes. I keep several apps running all day -- successfully.

    Attached is a sample. Thanks for the very prompt response! <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    John,
    The attachment didn't work - if you preview your response you need to reattach the file in the preview screen. (or just don't bother trying to attach it until you're in the preview screen)
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    Rory:
    Sorry... Rookies -- sheeeeeesh!
    Try this, please...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    John,
    I've had a bit of a play with that - copying sheets etc - and it had no problems on my laptop (Win2k, Excel 2k, 192MB RAM) so there doesn't appear to be anything actually wrong with the workbook, or at least not with the stripped-down version. (if you like you could email me the workbooks in question just to be sure - up to you.)
    I would suggest that you try recreating a new version from scratch and see if that starts to generate the same errors - if so, then I guess you are genuinely out of memory! RAM's not terribly expensive so have a word with the IT people if necessary.
    To save time you could copy and paste data and copy charts across to the new workbook, but if there is corruption you may simply be passing it from one workbook to another (though I would imagine copying the data is OK).
    Hope that's of some help.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    <img src=/S/scream.gif border=0 alt=scream width=15 height=15> Not good -- but many thanks for helping me to explore this.
    <img src=/S/surrender.gif border=0 alt=surrender width=31 height=23>

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    One other thing that just occurred to me - make sure you have a reasonable amount of free space on your C: drive - you can get strange errors if you're short on space on C.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    John,
    One last thing (I really am trying to save you from recreating this! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>):
    do you have the workbook that this is linked to open when you're making these changes? I recall that there were problems with having lots of linked formulas in 97 if the linking workbook wasn't open at the time of editing.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    OK - I see what you mean. Although I just forgot that the copied chart sheets would continue their dependencies on my live file, and didn't alter their formulas to point to the sanitized file, I did have the parent file open when I was creating the sanitized file for transmission to you.

    But, I very much appreciate your diligence and thoroughness.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel

    Not clear if I understand the number of links you have in the non-sanitised file. One of my memories of "Out of Memory" was having files with too many external links. Is the performance the aame if you try winnowing them down?

    6 error messages at once seems very many. Have you tried deleting your *.xlb file (while Excel is closed)? (I think it should be in your c:winnt folder.)

    I seem to remember that some of the 8GB IBM laptops had a max RAM capacity of 80Mb; which may eliminate one of the possible solutions. HTH
    Gre

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    Rory noted that unused file space must be reasonably large to allow an adequate disk cache.

    I used to have a similar Excel "out-of-memory" problem with old OLE drivers and a 32 MB machine. I'm out of my depth talking about OS issues, but can you tell us the OS, and find out if the OLE driver version was changed on your machine? I vaguely recall being told that the OLE drivers are used to maintain object validity when cut and past operations are used in Windows environments.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7DS

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    This sounds to me you simply have too many charts in this file. How many are there?

    It would be good to ensure the charts are dynamic.

    - create one formula page which by entering a sheet name changes its reference to that sheet
    - base your charts on that sheet.

    Now you only need *one* set of charts.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel

    There are no links in the original, non-sanitized file.

    I haven't deleted the *.xlb file yet. Yes, I have one. What impact would that file have?

    P.S. I stated my RAM to be 64Mb. I was thinking of my home rig; the one here at work is 256Mb.

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Not enough Memory' Error Message in an Excel File (97 SR-2)

    The OS is WinNT 4.0 SP6. No one can tell me whether the OLE driver version was changed. If it happened, then it must have happened on Monday March 4.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •