Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa, South Africa
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    I am using one of the wizards to create a database

    After the creation and completing of the company details I get the following error:

    run-time error '429'
    activeX component can't create opject

    If I close Access and go in again it gives the following error in the VBA Code

    ' Open the table of Switchboard Items, and find
    ' the first item for this Switchboard Page.
    Set con = Application.CurrentProject.Connection

    Thanks for the help

    Mario

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    Are any of the other wizards misbehaving? I've seen individual wizards go bad in Access 2000, but it was cured by a detect & repair from the UI help menu.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa, South Africa
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    It seems like any database with a switchboard gives the same error. I have created a database on another machine and it also gives the same problems.

    Any Ideas?

    Aren't there any specific Preferances I need to load

    Thanks

    Mario

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    Which wizard are you using? Have you tried the detect & repair?
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa, South Africa
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    I've tried almost all the wizards. It seems like it is something unique windows/office on this 2 machines. As soon as I want to load the switchboard off any database is gives that error.

    I've tried to re-install from differant CD's without success.

    Thanks for any help

    Mario

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    Have you tried detect & repair from the Access help menu? It fixed my wizard problems when I had them.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa, South Africa
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    I've tried the repair utility, but I think it is not the wizards but some setting inside office or windows that causes the problem. If I use the wizard on another machine and create a database and copy it to this machine it gives the same error. The same happens with a blank database and only a switchboard.

    Thanks for the input so far

    Mario

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa, South Africa
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    I've went to the MS site and found the following on the subject:

    OFF2000: Error Message: Run-time Error 429: ActiveX Component Can't Create Object (Q281848)

    The information in this article applies to:

     Microsoft Excel 2000
     Microsoft Access 2000
     Microsoft Word 2000
     Microsoft Outlook 2000
     Microsoft PowerPoint 2000
     Microsoft Project 2000
     Microsoft Visio 2000 Standard Edition
     Microsoft Visual Basic for Applications

    SYMPTOMS
    When running code that calls the Common Dialog Control (Comdlg32.ocx) on a computer other than the one on which the code was developed, you may receive the following error message:
    Run-time error 429: ActiveX component can't create object.
    CAUSE
    This problem can occur if the following conditions are true:
     The control is called from Visual Basic for Applications code by using the New CommonDialog command.

     The computer on which you are running the code has a run-time license rather than a design-time license for this control.

    With a run-time license, you can load the control but you cannot create or insert it. The design-time license for this control ships with the Microsoft Office 2000 Developer Edition or Microsoft Visual Studio. It does not ship with other versions of Microsoft Office 2000.
    WORKAROUND
    To work around this problem, wrap the control inside another control, such as a UserForm. To do this, follow these steps:
    In the Visual Basic Editor, add a UserForm to your project.

    Insert a common dialog control on the UserForm. For example, use the following code to call the common dialog control on the UserForm:

    Sub test()
    UserForm1.CommonDialog1.ShowOpen
    End Sub
    Save the workbook.

    Becuase the control is wrapped in the UserForm and resides inside the project, you can now call it in run-time mode.

    But my problem is I don't know how to change the VBA code. The error is on line 43. See attached sample file.

    Please help

    Mario
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    I'm sorry, but I don't see what the MSKB article has to do with using a wizard to create a database. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> And line 43 of *what* code? The only thing in your database is a switchboard form and table, and they aren't using a common dialog.

    The code you quoted originally is Access 2000 switchboard code, which means it will only work in Access 2000 or later. Are you running it on a machine with Access 2000 installed? If not, you need the Developer's edition to create a setup to install the runtime on a machine without Access 2000.
    Charlotte

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa, South Africa
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    Thank you for your time

    I first had the problem when I tried to run a wizard. Then I tried a blank Database with only a switchboard and I experienced the same problem. I've tried several installations of Office 2000 Prof without success. I then went and tried to find info at Microsoft

    I will be trying another installation disk. If someone creates a database on another machine and I try and un it from this machine I get the same VB error.

    I hope this clarifies my problem,

    Thanks

    Mario

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: run-time error '429' (Access 2000)

    Open the database holding down the shift key and open the VB Editor (alt F11). Go to Tools-->References and see if you can set a reference to DAO 3.6. One of the things that generates this error is a reference to an earlier version of DAO. If you don't have DAO 3.6 on your machine, then there's something wrong with your Office installation and you need to completely uninstall it, run the eraser app you can download from Microsoft, and then install it from scratch.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •