Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    COM port conflicts

    Hello all:

    Looking for help trying to assess what COM ports are in use by which devices, and how to free those ports up. The problem arises with connecting a digital camera by way of serial port - the error message includes the possibility that the COM port is not available (camera plugged in, turned on, etc.). Previously on this machine I had disabled the IR port in order to allow Palm's Hotsync Manager to run using a serial cradle, and all was well. Two recent changes that were made after the camera could be connected successfully: a wireless network card was installed, and an HP 932C that was previously connected by way of parallel port was reinstalled to connect by way of USB. TIA!

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    Which type of mouse are you using? If you are using a serial mouse you can switch to a PS/S or a USB and free up a comm port, probably COM 1. IF you are able to do this simply plug the camera in where the mouse use to be.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    Oh yes, more pertinent information. It's an IBM Thinkpad, and the owner has installed and uses a wireless logitech mouse in lieu of the touchstick. I did have her disconnect the mouse and reboot without it connected. Is there another step I can take to make sure the COM port is no longer occupied by the mouse?

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    Go to SYSTEM INFORMATION.

    START ===> PROGRAMS ===> ACCESSORIES ===> SYSTEM TOOLS ===> SYSTEM INFORMATION. ===> COMPONENTS ===> PORTS. Here you will see what each port is doing.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    I've attached a .gif of the output using the history setting - am I looking in the wrong place?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    Check under ADVANCED INFORMATION.

    There can be several Com ports, usually 1 through 4 if you have added them, and you can see how they are used.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    There is just the COM1, and to be frank I can't decipher the advanced information. When I view the IRQ usage, it looks like things are pretty full, but no conflicts.

    I just spent a few hours disabling and uninstalling various devices in order to free up the magical COM port the camera is looking for, but nothing worked. I also tried to add COM ports, getting 2 and 4 on, but no dice. I'm recommending that the user pick up a USB Smartmedia card reader and ditch the serial port connection method. This would be the reason why Mac hasn't used serial/parallel ports for years (ever?). <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    Does the comp have a modem ??

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    Yes, but it's a PCMCIA. I tried booting up without the card installed without success.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    It is possible that on the back of the CPU box you may have both a 9-pin port and a 25-pin port for serial connection. If that is the case, try the 25-pin, which is Comm 2 usually, and uses Comm 2 or 4.

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: COM port conflicts

    Keely,
    Try going into system properties, device manager, view devices by type and look at the modem sections.

    Does it list a modem on the com port ?

    If it does try removing the modem on the com port.
    Restart and try connecting again.

    By the way I presume the camera came with software for transferring images.
    have a look in this software for communication settings and make sure the relevant com port is enabled.
    Preferably using the auto settings.
    While your are at it make sure the com port settings in system properties is set to the correct figure. If it is too low it takes forever to load images.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •