New Lounger
    Thanks

Cannot build XLLs using Visual C++ .NET (Excel 2000 SR1 & Excel 97 SR2)

Dear Lounge,

I am having problems producing fully recognisable xll files for Excel using Visual C++ .NET and
    really do need a little advice of an Excel SDK expert. I'm just a beginner, so please bear with me.

I write software as a hobby and have a number of C functions I would like to use with Microsoft
    Excel by incorporating them into an xll, using the Excel '97 SDK and Visual C++ .NET. To get
    started producing xlls it seemed like a good idea to build the Excel SDK Frmwrk32 example
    project with VC++ .NET without changes, and take it from there. I obtained the Frmwrk32 example
    by following the advice contained in Microsoft Knowledge Base Article Q152152.

I unzipped all files from the Frmwrk32.exe file (see Q152152) and placed them in their own
    separate directory. I started Visual Studio .NET and opened generic.mak. VC++ offered to
    convert to VC++ 7.0 format. I clicked yes to convert (clicking no results in VC++ .NET failing
    to open the generic.mak file). The project seemed to convert successfully.

I made sure that the Configuration Manager was set to Release Build as advised in Knowledge Base
    Article Q194926 and rebuilt the project. This created a fresh version of generic.xll in the
    project directory without any renaming (from dll to xll) required.

I tried to open the new generic.xll in Excel 2000 under Windows XP Pro. Excel reported the file
    as containing macros, so it recognised the file to an extent, but after I clicked to Enable
    Macros the next message was that 'This file is not in a recognisable format' (?). I get the
    same result trying to open the recompiled generic.xll in Excel '97 under Windows '95 on the
    computer I use at work.

The original unzipped generic.xll works fine on both machines. The original was built by