Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    I have never had this happen in my working with the program. Does this only happen after a period of use, or is there any other time it occurs?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    It just happens all the time. Click on a Text frame to edit the text and try moving the IP with the arrow keys and... nothing. You have to grab the mouse again and click the exact spot you want to type or delete, etc. Very frustrating.

    I had this problem when our OS was Win98. I got a new PC with Windows 2000 Pro and the problem persists.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    A workaround to this annoying problem of the navigation keys not working: press F3 (Find) then Esc. The keyboard can now be used again in a text frame to navigate the text.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Packer Town
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    This sounds like a Keyboard driver issue. I would reinstall your keyboard, or I would visit the manufacturers website of your keyboard and dowload any newer drivers that may be available.

    Out of curiosity, try starting your computer in safemode and see if this still happens. If it does not, then you are looking at a keyboard driver problem or a video driver problem.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    Brian,

    Thanks for this idea. I have upgraded Pub to 2002 and STILL have the problem. You may be on to something. I'll see what Gateway has at their website re: keyboard drivers.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Packer Town
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    Kevin,

    I still would check this out in Safe mode to see if it happens...don't forget! ;-)

    BTW, I love Publisher 2002 :-)

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    The only problem with this idea is I doubt that Pub will run in Safe mode. What do you think?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Packer Town
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    Kevin,

    Yes, Publisher will work in Safe Mode.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Arrow keys stop working

    What'da'ya know...

    Thanks Brian.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Resolved: Arrow keys stop working

    Brian,

    Eureka! I didn't try safe mode because I got another idea -- if safe mode worked that would tell me only that some 32-bit driver was causing a problem. Not necessarily the keyboard driver.

    It turns out the problem was the Microsoft Intellimouse driver (version 3.10.xxx) when set to 1) "hide pointer while typing" and 2) "automatically move pointer to default button in dialog boxes. That combination essentially turned off the flashing IP (and thus the nav keys) in a Pub text box or table.

    I've upgraded to version 3.2 and so far the nav keys are working fine.

    Thanks for your idea, though. It got me thinking outside the box (Publisher) to where the real problem was (Windows).
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Resolved: Arrow keys stop working

    Publisher 2000 SR-1 (and 2000 did this too) will not respond sometimes to the arrow keys while trying to navigate in a text frame. You have to click the text with the mouse in order to move the IP. Is this a bug??
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •