Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bethel, CT, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Runaway Scroll Mouse

    I'm running Access from Office 97(latest service pac) with Windows 98. The scroll wheel on the mouse behaves as expected when the mouse pointer is over a text box or other control, but if the mouse pointer is over the form area itself, the scroll wheel causes the form to move to the next record (in whatever direction the wheel is turned). I assume that this is the way it is supposed to work. Unfortunately, sometimes, and for no apparant reason, it decides that it will scroll through all the records until it hits the end. Just a nuisance unless you have a required field empty, then you will receive a sequence of error messages equal to the number of records. The only easy way out is to "End Task".
    Has anyone dealt with this before? I'm hoping there's a software update or a simple piece of BTF VBA to fix it.
    And, Hey! Shouldn't the Microsoft Intellimouse software just naturally work with Microsoft Access?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Runaway Scroll Mouse

    Supposedly, this problem was cured in Access 97 SR-2. The recommended workaround is to disable the wheel on the mouse. I personally don't like the things and don't think they work well anywhere, especially in an Access database. I like the Microsoft mice, just not the wheels.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bethel, CT, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runaway Scroll Mouse

    Thanks Charlotte, your wonderful.[img]/w3timages/icons/love.gif[/img]
    Iwas under the mistaken impression that we already had SR-2 installed. Went to Microsoft downloads, got SR-2b, plugged it in, problem solved. My Sys. Admin says he's not bothering to update everyone else because we're upgrading to Office 2000 in less than 60 days.
    Which brings up another problem. Are you aware of any obvious problems with upgading a database made in Access 97?
    Will my Word automations still work?

    As the guy used say "Just when I think I've figured out 'Where its at', somebody goes and moves it."

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Runaway Scroll Mouse

    Good heavens, for that kind of flattery, you should demand much more elaborate answers!

    The biggest "problem" will be the size of the converted database. Access 2000 went to unicode, so the sizes got a lot bigger, and for that and other reasons the databases bloat much more than in 97. However, there are some things you can do to keep the bloat down.

    1. In every database, go to the Tools-->Options menu and select the General tab of the dialog. In the upper right corner you'll see something called Name Autocorrect. This looks like a good idea, but it isn't and it causes your database to bloat badly and is implicated in all sorts of odd behavior. Turn it off! Keep in mind though, that you'll have to do that for every database, at least until the next version of Access comes out.

    2. Converted tables won't be a problem, but new tables have their subdatasheet property set to [Auto] by default, and this can cause real performance slowdowns. This is another "feature" that looks like it should be a good thing, but since the whole idea is to hide your tables from users, it turns out to be overkill at best. This one has to be set for every table in every database.

    We're all hoping both these items will be exposed at a higher level in the next version.

    3. Access 2000 uses ADO rather than DAO as its default object model, so if you import your code into a new Access 2000 database, you'll get compile errors right away. You need to do two things: Set a reference in the VB editor to DAO 3.6, and start specifying the object model in your code when you declare object variables. To start with, you can turn off ADO and just stick with DAO. However, ADO offers things that simply can't be done in DAO, so I prefer to work with both. Just get used to declaring things as DAO.database and DAO.recordset. I'd recommend doing a search and replace on all your object declarations just to be on the safe side. Stuff specific to the user interface, like forms and controls, don't have an object model declaration. But things like tables, queries, fields, recordsets, and properties do. Some of them exist in both models, but with different methods and properties, so be careful.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runaway Scroll Mouse

    where do you go to change the subdatasheet property in the tables
    thanks
    JerryC

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Runaway Scroll Mouse

    Sorry, I should have mentioned that. Open the table in design view and bring up the properties dialog either by clicking on the properties icon on the toolbar or by right clicking the mouse and selecting Properties from the shortcut menu. You'll see the subdatasheet property, and it will be set to [Auto] for new tables. Just change it to [none].
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bethel, CT, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runaway Scroll Mouse

    Thanks for the elaboration Charlotte,
    This is useful info the Microsoft site didn't mention. Just the sort of things I'd like to know before going into an upgrade. I'll let you know how it goes.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Runaway Scroll Mouse

    Good luck. One more piece of advice for free: let somebody else do the upgrade, especially if it is an upgrade and not a new, full version installation. With Office 2000 upgrade, you have to start the setup over for each of the 3 Office CDs (Office Premium). When you install from the full version, it does that for you.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bethel, CT, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runaway Scroll Mouse

    I'll let the System Administrator handle the new software. He's extremely competent. And I've got my own problems trying to make a database do what the boss wants.
    Thanks again Charlotte, you've been a great help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •