Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Limits of A2k? (Limits of A2k?)

    Limits of A2k?

    A2k (9.0.3821) SR-1

    My development computer has 384MB RAM & 1GB disk space available. My end users have 128 MB RAM & 1GB disk space available.

    As the application grows when do I know I

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limits of A2k? (Limits of A2k?)

    I don't know about Access 2000, but in Access 97 go to help index and type "specifications".

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Limits of A2k? (Limits of A2k?)

    Searching for "specifications" in help also works in 2000 - not sure about 2002. In my view, as long as you have a reasonably fast processor, and at least 128MB RAM, things should work pretty well up to very complex applications. One factor to be considered is how many applications your user is trying to run at the same time. If it's several, you should probably have at least 256MB of RAM. We work with several users who run 10 to 15 apps, including 2 or 3 relatively complex databases, at the same time. Access itself doesn't necessarily take a big RAM footprint, and if your data is being stored on a server, then you don't need to worry too much about disk space on the workstation. Hope this helps.
    Wendell

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Limits of A2k? (Limits of A2k?)

    I don't think you have to worry about RAM, and your disk space will only be a problem if your backend database grows really, really large. Of course other applications you have running may impact you, in which case more RAM might be useful; but that is independent of the size of your database.

    A .mde is slighter small and supposedly more efficient than a .mdb, but I don't know that the difference would be significant. I guess that would be the last reason I'd consider for choosing a .mde over .mdb database; I usually use a .mde when I don't want anyone fooling around with form/report designs.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limits of A2k? (Limits of A2k?)

    "specifications" in help works in AXP also.

    Your RAM exceeds mine, and i have had no trouble with AXP.

    However, I had severe corruption problems developing with A2K, and my move to AXP "solved" those. I am using A2K file format.

    YMMV

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limits of A2k? (Limits of A2k?)

    Thanks All

    I'm not even scratching the surface with specification concerns.

    When saving complex form with 384MB Ram, Name Auto-Correct (all unchecked), no subdatasheet, etc. taking 15 to 30 seconds on 233MHz Pent II.

    Any thoughts?

    John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •