Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Suzhou, China
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    Windows 98 - Start Button depresses but does not activate menu. If you right click, you can only see the options of Open, Find and Explore.

    A bit of History

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    Sounds like some system files have been corrupted. If you hold down the Windows key on the keyboard, and press E, Windows Explorer should start. In the left panel, navigate to C:windowsstart menu. Find accessories, then System Tools, and double click on System Information. In the Tools Menu select System File Checker. Once that has opened click start and it will try and find missing or corrupt system files. You may need the Win98 cdrom for this. When it prompts restore any files that are either corrupt or missing and hopefully your problem should be solved.

    Good luck

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    > select System File Checker.

    Mike, thanks for this. Do you happen to know if the program can be run in batch mode, for example, from the command-line prompt? It sounds/looks like it might be a handy thing to run periodically.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    Chris, I'm not DOS literate (started computing with Windows 95) but if you poke around the System File Checker window you might be able to figure out what you need. I've read your backup routine using batch files and was suitably impressed (confused, but impressed). I gleaned this little fact from the SFC window about where the backups are stored C:WINDOWSHelpdeskSFC and from the Advanced tab this C:WINDOWSdefault.sfc for the verification criteria. It's possible that this is strictly a Windows Wizard. I couldn't find any SFC.exe file in the Windows directory, but ther is a folder with a blue check mark on it in the WindowsSystem folder titled SFC.exe That opens the System File Checker window. You'll have to take it from there 'cause I'm at the end of my personal knowledge base.
    ~Doc
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    Hi Chris, no not that I am aware. i tried running the file - I found SFC.exe in WindowsSystem - in a dos box but it brought up the standard windows dialog box. So it probably needs to run from a Windows Scheduler duch as Task Scheduler or some 3rd party replacement.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    Hey Chris,

    You could launch it from a batch file but it will almost always require user intervention. It is also hard coded to disallow running from DOS mode. You may be interested in this: http://Description of the System File Checker Tool (Sfc.exe) (Q185836) but I found it very terse and not informative at all.

    I don't think that you can pre-stuff it with command line switches to automatically replace the files that it finds changed or corrupted. You can specify a verification file to use at the command prompt. There is an option once it discovers a changed file to "update verification information for all changed files" but you still need to select it.

    That said, it is much better to be interactive with the program when it's running anyway. There is always the possibility that you will need to know what file is being listed as corrupted, for example, or just to see what's been changed. I use it on a regular basis with Win98 machines. I also make use of a nifty little tool in the Win98 Resource Kit (if you can find a copy of it): FILEINFO.EXE. It provides a nice list of the system files and their purpose. That way you can check before stomping on a potentially critical system file.

    Hope that helps you in your quest...cheers!
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What program is that?

    ================================================== =======================

    CAUTION: experimenting like this has the potential of ruining your system. Attempt these suggestions at your own risk. If in doubt, don't run them. ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS make a backup before experimentation, at least a system registry backup.

    ================================================== =======================


    With help from DocWatson and WyllyWylly and MikeB


    Suppose you have run the System File Checker using your mouse and now want to run it from the command prompt. You'll need to locate the program's path and name. Here's how I do it.


    Determine the program
    =====================


    I open Explorer and reduce it to a size about 1/4 of the screen and drag it off to the Right Hand side.

    If I've been clicking Start, Programs, Accessories, System Tools to launch the program, then I open the corresponding directory in Explorer (C:, Windows, Start menu, Programs, Accessories, System Tools ) and display the shortcuts in that directory in the right-hand pane of my Explorer window.

    I now click Start, Programs, Accessories, System Tools to pop up the corresponding menu, up to but not including the point where the program appears.

    I compare my pop-up menu tree with the directory structure in Explorer. They should correspond.

    I determine the appropriate shortcut in Explorer and abandon the pop-up menu.

    I right-click on the shortcut in Explorer and choose Properties; there in the Shortcut tab I obtain the value of Target.

    For example, if I'm trying to determine down what program is the System File Checker, I'll end up locating the "System Information" shortcut by identifying it by position in the Explorer pane. Right-click on that shortcut and see that the program invoked is "C:Program FilesCommon FilesMicrosoft SharedMSINFOMSINFO32.EXE".

    I can paste that entire string into a DOS window as easily as I pasted it into Notepad, so building a batch file has one less potential error.


    Determining command-line parameters is sometimes as easy as appending "/?" without quotes at the end of the pasted command line and pressing the "Enter" key to essay for a help file.




    You can check this out by typing (or pasting) at the DOS command prompt:
    <pre>c:windowssystemsfc.exe
    </pre>




    Determine the command-line switches
    ===================================

    I use the DOs "FOR" loop to poke around:


    <pre>for %a in ( a b c d e f g h i j k l n o p u v w x ) do c:windowssystemsfc.exe /%a
    </pre>



    In this case it pops up an irregular series of pop-up boxes. I manage to catch that m, n, q, r, s, t y and z are not appropriate switches. I delete them and essay again. This time I note that b, d, e, f, g, h, i, j n, o, w and x should be removed.

    Now I am reduced to trying
    <pre> for %a in ( a c l v ) do c:windowssystemsfc.exe /%a
    </pre>

    and I see that /a and /l produce a null-switch effect, while /c and /v both launche the verifier, using my Default.sfc file. "SFC.EXE /V" appears to be a load-and-run (V=Verify?) option.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    > I'm not DOS literate (started computing with Windows 95)

    Don't worry. I don't believe that MSoft is as Dos-literate as it could be.

    You response prompted me to start my brain working again and formalising the procedures I've followed before. We all are a little furthe ahead as a result of your response. Thanks!

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    > I found SFC.exe in WindowsSystem

    Mike thanks for this. Please see also my two other responses.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Start Button depresses but does not show menus

    Chris,
    Once again I'm awe-struck with your knowledge of DOS and at the same time, dumb-struck with confusion. Think I'll stick with the Windows GUI and leave DOS to you intellectual folks.
    Thanks for the compliment. Glad to have been your catalyst.
    ~Doc
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •