Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No login window at startup

    I've installed windows 98se on a computer that needs to login on a NT domain. He can do that just fine, but not right away. When the computer first starts (or restarts) it goes straight to the desktop without logging in, I have to log out (i guess the pc logged into win98 or something) to see the login window and only then can I get on the NT domain.

    I have compared the network-settings with other clients, everything is the same except for computername and ip. I don't know where to look, help is greatly apreciated.

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Go to Network properties
    What does it say under 'Primary Network Logon' ?
    Perhaps try client for MS networks

    Also assuming you have 'Client for Microsoft Networks' showing, check the properties and configure for your NT domain.

    Not 100% on these but it may be worth a try.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Go to Network properties
    What does it say under 'Primary Network Logon' ?
    Perhaps try client for MS networks


    That is what it's saying. I've checked the "Log on to Windows NT Domain" option in the "Client for Microsoft Networks" properties and the right domainname is entered. The pc can login alright, I can't seem to make it a requirement [edit], I never had to before.[/edit]

    It's a clean install after a format c:

    Thanks for thinking with me Jimbo.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Try changing the primary logon to "Windows Logon", rebooting, and then changing it back to Client for Microsoft Networks.

    I'm assuming that you do not have TweakUI or any auto-logon software enabled.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Thanks Mark,
    I tried it, but to no avail. The box only holds a custom windows install. I can't recall what I ditched but nothing important I think. I'll check and compare it to another box come monday.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    I just did a typical install instead. Changed the NIC and added a user to try to force a login.

    Nothing helps and I'm running out of ideas, anyone have one?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Check out these to KB's - they have links to further articles and may lead to a solution.

    How to Display Domain Logon Confirmation in Windows (Q150898)

    How to Change Passwords in Windows Me/98/95 (Q257485)

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Thanks.

    I searched the registry for "autologon" and deleted the string it came up with. I never specified such a thing nor did I think windows would. Oh well.
    Thanks again for all the suggestions.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Does that mean you've solved it?

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Yep

    thanks again

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    "autologon" can be added by using TweakUI or something like it <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    I'm aware of that, it's just that it's a client used by more than one person and I _don't_ want it to autologon [img]/forums/images/smilies/tongue.gif[/img]

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    What I was trying to say, was that with TweakUI <font color=red>ANY ONE </font color=red>could turn on the "Auto log on". <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No login window at startup

    Ah yeah, I get it :-)

    Anyone could indeed, I don't really have to protect the pcs from their users though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •