Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    I've managed to lose the password used by all my many Dial Up Networking connections. The box to create them in DuN Properties is greyed out.

    I've tried setting a new connection, and editing existing ones, but with no luck.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    I have WinME, but not DUN...was wondering if System Restore would work?
    Also, isn't there someplace in the Registry that has the passwords logged in?
    Maybe when the more knowledgeable members showup they would have better solutions for you. Sorry.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    Yeah, but I really don't want to use System Restore for this problem.
    Like you, I'm hoping that someone with a bit more knowledge than me can help.

    Colin

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I know...wish they would hurry up, but since it is Monday, and the day after St.Paddy's Day, they may be a wee bit late! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    Did you try the KBase for solutions? I tried looking in the WinME 'Help& Support' - what an oxymoron! Since I have cable, and have never used a DUN, I am sorry that I can't help you more.
    *tapping fingers on desktop, hoping others get here fast*

  5. #5

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    THanks


    I'll have a look now


    Colin

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    Hi Leif

    Thanks

    Your first suggestion worked.

    The solution I apparently needed was

    "An additional cause is that the Client for Microsoft Networks is not installed. To resolve this: install client for Microsoft Networks. "

    Thanks a lot. I really do appreciate how easy it is to come on a group like this, and most times get such prompt and correct answers. Keep up the good work.

    Colin

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    See! I told you the brainy ones would showup and help <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Glad it all worked out ok.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    Thanks Lonnie


    I had a smile on my face when I got Leif's answer, becoz it solved my problem.


    I must admit tho that I had another smile at your last mesg.


    Made me laugh.

    Thanks



    Colin

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15> Only 2 yrs using a computer...some stuff I've learned from here, other forums, reading magazines, and general 'all-around-goofs' of my own.
    I call the other members with years of experience the 'brainy ones', cuz I know that they've come across similar questions like yours, or else have had to find out the hard way themselves! <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    Hope it - the computer - stays healthy for you...until the next Micronut problem shows up. <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    The real question now, is how did you lose "Client For MS Networks" ?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    Yeah it doesn't take long does it. However, many problems do end up being self-inflicted

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    Dave


    That's the best question so far.

    And you know what?

    I haven't a clue.

    I had spent the weekend manually registry editing to remove every single trace of Norton, having finally lost patience with it, and deciding to switch to McAfee.

    I cannot believe that a utilities program like this leaves so much debris around in the registry. I know they say you can leave it, but I don't like it hanging round cluttering it up with garbage. At one point in their instructions they even say

    "Be aware there are MANY (their caps) Rescue entries. They can be left behind without any ill effects other than taking up space in the Registry"

    Anyway, that's my rant over, and to get back to the story. I suspect I deleted something whilst re-setting this or doing some of the other "cleaning" I did over the weekend. (but it's more fun to blame Norton & have a dig at them, as it really does bug me Customer friendly? more like Customer aggressive)

    As I don't have a network, the problem wasn't immediately obvious.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    OMG!...you got rid of Norton's to install McAfee? <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>
    Good Luck! I got rid of McAfee 2 yrs ago to get Norton's - too many screwups with McAfee...haven't had a single problem with Norton at all <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    I am wishing you much luck with McAfee...just my opinion of course. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Dial UP Networking - Lost passwords

    Here on this side of the water "McAfee" is the biggest virus there is, then there is AOL and then MSN.
    <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •