Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    I have a VB6 application that displays an Acrobat document within an OLE window. My last step is to place a print command button on the form that will print the Acrobat document displayed. For example, I'm using:

    Pdf1.printAllFit True

    which prints all the pages (which is always one page the way the business process works), but it adds 3 pages of crap to it. The other three pages prints on one page a happy face then .pdf, another page prints the same happy face .pdf, then another 4 lines "@PJL SET JOBATTR=DOCOWNER=MSHEA", and I'll spare you the other three lines which just represent what looks like other attributes of the print job.

    The third page is the actual document I wanted to print, and the 4th page has the happy face .pdf, and the next line prints @PJL EOJ Name="NWQS030B" (I'm guessing EOJ means end of job).

    The Acrobat document in the OLE window also has a print icon on it. When I try printing it there it will do exactly the same thing.

    I've tried going through the Adobe help documents but that's like finding a needle in a haystack the way they have it set up, if help for the print function even exists at all.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    Is the Windows default printer configured with a PostScript driver? Acrobat seems to prefer that.

    Are you printing to a captured port?

    Is it managed by a Novell server?

    I just improvised a VBA UserForm with a PDF control and command button running the same print method. It works just fine, so I suspect it's something completely not directly related to the control itself.

    Oh, I'm using version 2.0.100/2.0.0.100 of the .ocx, supplied with Acrobat Business Tools, 4.0.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    Jefferson, I'm not sure if we are talking about the same ocx, but the PDF.ocx control verson I'm using indicates 5.0.5.452.

    I will talk to our network people and get the answers to your questions and post them later today.

    Mike

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    I had our desktop guys install the PostScript drivers on my computer and that didn't work.

    Printing is managed by a Novell server, which I knew and probably could have told you in my last message. Our network administrator and I made several tests. We are doing Queue bases printing. When I open the Acrobat document on the server using the normal Acrobat program, it will print from there just fine.

    Trying to print from my application is interesting. I connected a printer cable to a parallel port and tried printing it locally. That worked.

    When I reverted to the network it did the same, printing the document with the 3 additional pages of printing attributes.

    What our network guy tried was changing the printer to a NDPS (you'll have to excuse me, I'm not familiar with any of this). Printing through the OLE Acrobat in this way worked fine. I'm told this would take some work to configure all the printers using this application in the hospital to work in this way, but possible. It would be a lot easier if I can figure out how to make this work using queue based printing (I'm hoping you understand all this).

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    Well, I did set up a Netware 2.x network in 1985. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> The idea behind the capture/queue questions was that banner pages and such are typically configured within those settings, independent of the application. However, I think your test shows either that (1) I'm wrong, or (2) VB+OCX is doing something very different than Acrobat itself. I don't know if there are any settings in VB that could be causing the extra pages. Actually, all knowledge of stand-alone VB (as opposed to VBA) is beyond me. Maybe this is now concrete enough to submit to Adobe support?

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    I tend to support your theory #2. As it is, I published my application to our Citrix server and had one of the nursing units try printing from the application to their printer and it worked fine. I'll just run this test each place the applicaiton will be used, and if it doesn't work, I'll just have our network guys configure those printers to NDPS.

    Thanks again for your input, Jefferson.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    Mike,
    I've been searching the "archives" for info on PDFs and found this intelligent exchange between you and Jefferson. Would you happen to know where I could find some documentation on the PDF.ocx object library? I've been all over the Adobe site and the web. Nothing.

    Thanks in advance.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    Hi Kevin,

    Thanks for the compliment but Jefferson was the brains of this thread! [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    I've searched the Adobe site and the web also, and also found nothing useful. The Adobe site I found down right annoying. If you find anything I would very much like the info. If it hadn't been for the input I got from here I wouldn't have been able to accomplish what I needed.

    Again, good luck,

    Mike.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    Jefferson gets far too many compliments for one human being. He's too good.

    Anyway. Would you mind posting your code mods that make use of the PDF objects? At least a PM if there's non-publishable code. I could sure use a jumpstart here. "Annoying" is an excellent word to describe Adobe's web site. I've got the Acrobat SDK and it's been no help so far. It's a very annoying buch of documents.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    What I'm doing with the control is very simple and I didn't write any functions or subs surrounding it. In different events I have it display a particular PDF document within the control. I've figured out that the LoadFile method is what is used to display a particular document:

    Pdf1.LoadFile lvwRM.SelectedItem.SubItems(cmfilename)

    Pdf1.LoadFile "" clears the window.

    The PrintAll method will print the displayed document and all pages.

    Pdf1.setZoom 100 sets the zoom level of the displayed document in the control to 100 percent.

    I hope this helpped. This is all I used and the rest of the code isn't really relevant to your question (nor can I post it). I would have loved to be able to determine how to scan directly from the control, I don't even know if that is possible.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    Sadly, I have nothing helpful to add here. The only "documentation" I found was the object browser, which lists the methods and duplicates the intellisense prompts. Strangely, the object browser includes almost none of the properties available when you type the "dot" in a code module; perhaps those properties apply to any control and are not PDF specific?

    Hopefully this will not ruin my reputation. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing using the Adobe Control (VB6, Acrobat Writer 5.0)

    Gee.....

    I was hoping you had some syntax to show that could help me avoid the hunting expeditions. Your reputation remains intack. It's not your fault Adobe ignores VB people.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •