Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    After doing some work on a webpage, I wanted to check out the changes with both Netscape and IE - but now I cannot find IE anywhere on my computer. I tried searching for iexplore.exe and got zero hits, but when I attempt to install IE from a CD - it says that it is already there - and won't install! <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>
    Ed
    "Somebody left the cork out of my lunch." - W. C. Fields

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    Mine is listed at "G:Program FilesInternet Explorer" but I am on a multi-boot system, running Windows XP Pro at this time.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    Dave - I think you missed the point of my post - IEXPLORE.EXE is nowhere to be found on my hard drive - I have searched all directories and sub-directories - it just does not exist, but when I attempt to re-install the installer says that it is already loaded and then the installer ends and I'm left right where I was before I attempted the re-install - no Internet Explorer (not that I'm really fond of IE, but I need to make sure that the changes that I made to a webpage look O.K. in IE as well as Netscape)
    Ed
    "Somebody left the cork out of my lunch." - W. C. Fields

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    It may be "Hidden", did you turn on show system files?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    How about using the IE Repair in Control Panel? At the moment, I can't think of anything else...other than a popup stopper maybe having 'stopped' the IE itself? Far fetched, I know...
    Try the Repair function first.
    Good Luck!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> I like to see *everything*
    Ed
    "Somebody left the cork out of my lunch." - W. C. Fields

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    Hi Lonnie -
    I would if it showed up on the control panel - that is the problem - IE has disappeared from my system, but it won't let me re-install IE, 'cause this <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> machine still thinks it is there!
    Ed
    "Somebody left the cork out of my lunch." - W. C. Fields

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    Ed - not listed in the Add/Remove section...Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 and Internet Tools? <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>
    It's gotta be there, if the 'system' says it is there! oh - you got 98SE, altho I don't see the difference, should be the same as mine (WinME/IE6) <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>
    OK...what did you do BEFORE this happened? surfing, install software, uninstall software, Office stuff, any Winupdates??? Did you check for virus? I'm going through the list embedded in my brain... <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>...how about, did you have a check mark in IE>Tools>IOptions>Programs'check to see if IE is default browser'?
    Like I said, my brain is blank...sorry...
    utoh...Netscape is now 'owned' by AOL...think maybe it (IE) got 'hijacked' and Netscape is only browser???
    I'm grasping at straws here, what is your method of connection to 'Net?
    How about something got messed up in Registry?

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Whoops - what did I do? (IE 5.5/Win98SE)

    Ed what do you have in the folder crogram filesIinternet Explorer? Thats where the executable should be if installed to the default. If that particular file isn't there what about IEsetup.exe?? Attached is an image of that folder on my 98se machine with IE6 installed.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •