Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Repair Install (XP/Home)

    After spending over a month in Dell Hell with my T600, Dell finally replaced the system. The new PC has XP/Home installed. About once a day, the PC crashes with a stop error named DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. Dell tech support first referred me to Microsoft article Q316208, which said the problem was due to a RAID driver. There are no RAID devices on the PC, so that info was totally useless. Now they tell me I must do a Repair Reinstall of XP.

    Has anyone had experience with this stop error or a Repair Reinstall. Does A Repair Reinstall work as advertised? I'm leery about anything either Dell or Microsoft tell me to do!

    Thanks,

    Joe

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    Ugh, I hat that error message. Yes, seen it, fought it, and beat it too - so be prepared to dig.

    The cause is not RAID, per se, as you have discovered. It's usually a device driver. Video, sound, anything that operates at the kernel level. This usually rules out USB/IEEE 1394 devices and such. If you've updatyed your drivers, that could be why - if you have not, then look for the latest drivers for your hardware.

    When you replace them, my recommendation is to boot into safe mode to absolutely ensure that they are not in use. Remove the driver that you want to upgrade. I've even gone so far as to manually delete the files associated with the device - my NVidia card was a real pain in the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> to fix, because for whatever reason the drivers kept acting up. Removing the NV4*.* files from the hard drive solved that neatly. In the process I watched the System File Protection feature replace the driver files that I stomped on - the ones necessary for safe mode anyway.

    You can beat it. But if Dell has your money, lean on them hard - make sure they give you what you paid for. If the tech that answers the phone doesn't seem to want to solve your problem, work your way up the food chain, and take notes and names. Eventually you will find someone in a position to make things happen, who also understands the value of a customer. You are the reason for their paycheck. Without your patronage, they don't have a business.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    Thanks for the prompt response. The driver that comes up with the message is for my cable modem, but the RoadRunner tech support people say I have everything configured correctly & they sent me back to Dell. I have now successfully completed the Repair Reinstall. I won't know if this solves the problem, only if it doesn't. The computer runs normally until something triggers the stop error. If it doesn't happen for a few days, I'll assume success.....

    Thanks again!

    Joe

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    I didn't think to ask before.....does the Event Viewer -> System Log show anything at the time that the STOP occurs? It might provide a clue.

    Since you are using RoadRunner, you may want to check into a driver update for your network card. Of course for now, don't change anything and see if the error recurs, but if it does, then keep this in mind as a potential solution.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    I checked the System Log in the Event Viewer, but found no entries at the times of the crashes. So far, no additional crashes, so maybe the Repair Reinstall fixed the problem. It would be nice if the solution were that simple--we will see!!

    Thanks again,

    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    I contacted RCA since it is their cable modem driver that keeps coming up in the stop error message and got the following reply:

    "If you are using an Ethernet connection, then no drivers are needed. If you are using a USB connection drivers are necessary; however, the drivers on our website are not Windows XP compatible. We currently do not have drivers available for Windows XP. We will most likely have updated drivers in the future; however, we do not have an estimated time frame at this point."

    Consequently, I changed the cable modem from a USB connection to an Ethernet connection. So far, this seems to have resolved the issue since I have had no crashes since making this change. What surprises me is that Roadrunner did not know this. My next message will be to them, and then to Dell

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    oakland, California
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by WyllyWylly on 07-Jul-02 20:39.</P>Robot:

    I have the same problem as you seemed to have. I use a linksys USB cable modem and the problems seem to occur when I am using Internet Explorer. They started early in July when a memory chip failed, at least the POST says that it is defective. As I had two chips in the computer I just took out the bad one. But I still get the message on occasions. Most recently the Blue Screen of Death showed Ndis.sys as the error but I have had problems with IPSECas well. Have you solved your problems?

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    Dear CB:

    Yes, I have solved the problem. I connected my RCA cable modem using the network card rather than a USB port, and the problem went away. Do you have a Dell computer? What operating system are you using? Since you have a different brand cable modem and a similar problem, I wonder if the culprit is XP's implementation of USB or Dell's USB (if your PC is also Dell with XP), or some combination of those? The RoadRunner people insisted that the USB driver for the RCA cable modem should absolutely positively work with XP, so that mystery is still open. However, I no longer have stop errors or blue screens, so I have taken RCA's word over RoadRunner's. One of these days I will see if RCA has an XP driver and try USB again, but for now I am leaving well-enough alone.

    Hope you can fix your problem as easily as I did (although I pulled out a lot of hair in the process).

    Cheers,

    Robot

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    oakland, California
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    Robot
    My computer is one I put together myself and worked fine for several months before my most recent problems. I have an ASUS P4B266 mobo and 2.2 Gb P4. I cannot figure out why this happens some of the time and not others. But I don't get the BSOD except when I am on the Internet surfing. Nothing else seems to be a problem and I downloaded all the Critical updates for Windows XP from Microsoft several times. I have just stuck a new drive in as the Max-Blast program from Maxtor was indicating a problem with the drive. Actually, SiSoft Sandra showed a problem and when I checked, the 20 Gb Maxtor drive was showing only 2 Gb size. The POST reported it as 20 Gb but Windows XP was showing 2 Gb. Wierd, but I thought it might be a latency thing between the drive and CPU or something. Anyway, I am still struggling and will keep everyone informed of what I find. It is really a shame that this Lounge has to exist due to the carelessness which Microsoft demonstrates in the design of their operating system. Or maybe it is a problem with peripherals, but there is inadequate diagnostic capability in the OS to detect those problems.

    CBS

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    oakland, California
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    Robot:

    It was a good clue I think. I checked with the Linksys web page. My cable modem is a BEFCMU10 and while they don't list any updates for the driver for that one, they do list a driver for the BEFCMU10 ver2??? I downloaded that one and updated the installation of the driver in the Device Manager. It seems to work, but what I can't figure out is exactly what was happening. It is possible that there are some tweaks that Linksys put in to fix problems, but they don't tell us users about those. Anyway, it seems to be working for the time being. I will say it is good if it can run without the Blue Screen of Death for a week.

    CBS

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    Great news CBS! Hope that solved it for you.

    Robot

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    oakland, California
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Repair Install (XP/Home)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by WyllyWylly on 09-Jul-02 20:52.</P>Well, so far things look good. I haven't been able to stay on the Internet for this long in a week now and it happened right after I installed the Linksys upgraded driver. For the record, as some people may search this site looking for solutions to this problem, I fixed a problem with Blue Screen of Death giving me errors indicating Ndis.sys was finding errors as well as a couple of times Afd.sys was finding errors. I am using a Linksys BEFCMU10 USB linked cable modem connected to AT&T cable in the Oakland, CA area. I found the solution on the http://www.linksys.com site in a download driver for the BEFCMU10 rev2 cable modem. Even though my cable modem is not a rev2, I tried the new driver by reinstalling the downloaded driver in place of the one which I got on a CD with the modem. Robot's solution was to use the Ethernet card instead of the USB but because I have so many cards in my computer, I tried the new driver just on a hunch. I hope that this will help others in the future.

    CBS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •