New Lounger
    Thanks

Macro needed to save msg as .rtf! (2000)

Help. I'm new to this macro creation thing using VBA in Outlook 2K. I've updated a user to Outlook 2K from '97. She needs to save received Emails (no matter what format they came in) as.rtf by default to a specific network directory. I've received some help on this - where the code allows the save as .rtf only if the originating format was .rtf, and no choice on where to go from the default directory. Ultimately, what I need to see after running the macro is the Save As dialog box sitting there at the default directory, in .rtf format, and the user can browse to a subfolder and name the Email message according to the schemes they have utilized - i.e., Msg to Joe Smith-23. This means hacking the file name themself from the default (I believe the subject line?) , but I think they already were used to doing this in Outlook 97. The user needs to see what has been saved before in the chosen (sub)directory so they can keep the file-naming scheme going. I've attached a text file of the existing macro.
    So, am I crazy? Thanks everyone!
    Kim Caldwell, Austin, Texas
    Attached Files Attached Files

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Macro needed to save msg as .rtf! (2000)

Well, there's this:

Sub SaveAs()

Dim cbtnSAF As CommandBarButton

Set cbtnSAF = ActiveInspector.CommandBars.FindControl(, 748)
    cbtnSAF.Execute

End Sub
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7DS

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

There is the another issue in that the SaveAs routine seems to choke on .rtf format - .txt and .htm being the only practicable options. (Online Help would make you think otherwise.) This is on SR1 with and without the security update.
    Can you give me a link for other index numbers using FindControl? A limited search on the MSKB and the Immediate Window yields little.
    Gre

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

I used Jefferson's code <!post=here,105614>here<!/post>.
    UTC -7DS

New Lounger
    Thanks